Tags

, , , ,

 It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

5.5/6 starsColleenHooverItEndsWithUs


My thoughts

Emotional.

Gripping.

Bold.

Brave.

One of a kind.

1000% must-read.

Yes, I meant to put three zeros’ behind that 1.

Colleen has been an immediate-buy to me for years. Everything she writes draws me in until the point where I live inside the book instead of reality whenever I’m reading. Every book she writes swipes me off my feet in one way or another. Every book she writes has me falling and crashing and burning and melting. It Ends With Us was like that, but different, because this book is unlike anything I’ve ever read and probably will ever read. The story behind this book is the most powerful one I’ve ever read. Everything about this book, from the characters to the setting to the way it’s written, is captivating and absolutely heartbreaking and stunningly beautiful. It had my emotions go up and down and turning inside out. Over and over and over again.

Somewhere on social media, I read Colleen said it was best to go in blind. And when Colleen says something like that, you listen. So I did. I went in so blind I didn’t read the blurb. I went in so blind that I skipped the dedication page and went straight to chapter one. I went in so blind that after It Ends With Us was released, I avoided Colleens posts on social media in fear of them being about this book and giving something away. I’ll confess: I still haven’t read the blurb while writing this review. I will once I have most of my feelings written down. I’m glad I went in blind though and I can only recommend doing the same. The only thing I knew about this book the moment I opened it, was the cover, the title, the first name of the female heroine and that this is the most personal book Colleen has ever written. That alone made this a very interesting experience.

It didn’t end there though. Oh no, that was just the start. I am blown off my feet by this story. The meaning of it, the characters, the strength, the bravery, the setting, the whole process. Everything hit me so hard. If you’ve followed my reviews, you might have picked up I don’t cry with books very often. Well, Colleen sure took a few firsts from me with this one (they were hers to take anyway 😉 ). Not only did I cry multiple times, and were my eyes were so blurry the words were swimming before my eyes several times more, this is also the very first time a book made me cry with happy tears. That has never happened to me before. Like ever.

This is a book everyone in the entire world should read, if you ask me. It hit me so hard and deep down to the bottom of heart that I couldn’t even fan-girl right after I finished. I’m sure that will come at some point, but holy hell It Ends With Us still has me in its grip. I’m still thinking about these characters and what they went through. I don’t think they’ll let me go any time soon either. They keep running through my mind. The choices they made were just so… *deep breath* You’re gonna have to read it to understand. And the author’s note at the end. Holy crap, that was just as powerful as the rest of the book. Before you get curious, though, I have to say this; please do not read that before you’re completely finished. It will ruin the whole meaning of the book. So please don’t. Go in blind and just let this book do what it’s written for. You will thank me later. 😉

I’m scared to spoil anything related to this story, so I won’t tell much in relation to the characters, but I will say this. Lily is such an utterly good person. Her heart is so huge and filled with so much kindness. I wish I was like her. She’s modest and intelligent and alive and bright and brave. The bravery that woman has inside her is more than just a little inspiring. She’s incredibly strong and I will respect her and all women like her the rest of my life. And God the emotions. They’re going everywhere. All. The. Time. Holy crap. The emotions ran so high, I was actually close to exhausted when I finished, that’s how deep into the story I was. It was an amazing feeling. I’m used to having my heart get tossed around by the hands of Colleen Hoover, but this was different somehow.

I know I can’t do this book the justice it deserves with my review. It’s still so raw inside of me that I can’t even find the right words to express myself. If it’s any indication though, just know that if I’d have to pick 1 book I would recommend for the rest of my life, it would be this book. I feel like every single person should read It Ends With Us, because what happened inside these pages, is so important. This is one of those rare stories that I will carry with me the rest of my life.

***

You might have noticed I left out the synopsis I usually place at the top. I did that for the following reason. Like I said in this review, it was recommended to go in blind. What kind of person would I be to not give you that chance by putting the blurb at the top, making it impossible to at least get a glimpse? An awful one. So I’m putting it down here. So you have the chance to stop reading right now and go in blind, or read the blurb anyway, if you’re really curious. I would still recommend going in blind, just so you know.

 

Synopsis

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

 * I used the cover from Goodreads