Tags

, , , ,

Retrieval by Aly Martinez

5.5 starsAlyMartinezRetrieval

Synopsis

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

 

My thoughts

Oh. My. God. I LOVE THIS BOOK!! The blurb grabbed my full attention from the second I read it and knowing it was written by Aly Martinez, I just HAD to read it. And holy hell this book!! It had everything in perfect balance. It’s deeply moving. It’s angsty. It’s hot. It’s as heartwarming as it is heart breaking. It has humour. It has sarcasm. It will make your heart race and will have you on the edge of your seat. It has so many feels it’s insane. It has everything! And I’m still so excited about it even though I finished more than a day ago.

Okay, deep breath. Yes, okay. I’m back.

God, I don’t even know where to start. I won’t be saying much about the storyline itself, because honestly, you just have to read this book and I wouldn’t forgive myself for giving anything away and not letting you have the full experience. Now, that brings me to the main characters…  (Where is that seductively looking emoji when you need it?)

Roman is this flustering combination of arrogant, cocky businessman and protective, good hearted ex-military who would walk through all the fires in hell for the woman he loves. He can be harsh and cold one moment and warm and gentle the next. He’ll put fire in your veins to the point when you’re either seconds away from strangling him or attaching yourself to him like a monkey.

I’ll be honest. I’ve never been a businessman kind of girl, I don’t go weak in the knees for men in suits at all, so there was a splash of tiny miny disappointment when I saw the mention of suits, but Roman made it more than okay. He made me see beyond the clothes and look right into his soul and I loved what I found there. He made me laugh so hard, he made me swoon just as much – trust me, he’s charming as hell – he made me cry and me infuriated me, but oh wow I love that man. I can see why Elisabeth fell head over heels for him as fast as she did, because I did too. Some men have you under their spell before you even had the chance to blink and Roman is one of those. I could talk about him for hours. He’s the perfectly flawed kind of man I hope to find one day. My god, I want this man for me. I’m sorry Elisabeth, but isn’t there a possibility that we share him? Please? (A)

Elisabeth is beyond awesome. I loved her attitude. She stands tall about her opinion and she won’t be pushed around with – not even by Roman – yet at the same time she’s such a wonderful, gentle, caring, sweet woman. I grew to love her so easily. Her soul is just as golden as Roman’s is, yet she has enough flaws to be a realistic human. (if that makes any sense at all.)

I love how Retrieval is written. There were additions to this book that were totally unexpected, yet made the whole story that much more powerful. It ensured this extra layer of depth and Aly did a magnificent job of bringing it all together. It wouldn’t have been the same story without it. And the twist!! O.M.G. There will be a twist that you will not see coming! It mind-fucked the hell out of me in such a way that I actually read back through the previous chapters of the book to see if I could somehow have seen that coming if I’d paid enough attention. And for the record, no. There was no way I could have been prepared for that. Holy moly.

And the theme. Retrieval has such a unique theme! It’s not a subject I’ve ever read about before and it’s done in such an amazing way. Honestly, I think it’s something a lot of people don’t even really think about because it’s a natural thing for most. Seeing it like this, though, made me look at the whole thing in a total different light and it was so heartbreaking. (You must love how vague I am, speaking about ‘things’ lol. Sorry, I ain’t spoiling shit!! 😉 )

I don’t know what it is about Aly’s books, but I always find myself wanting to highlight the largest part of the book. She has this way of forming certain sentences that makes me want to memorise her every line into my brain. I love how her books make me feel everything and suck me in right from the start, not letting me get back up for air until the end, because that is definitely what I felt like while reading Retrieval. Her books have me thinking about these characters all day, speculating what’s gonna happen next and how the characters will respond, leaving me nearly unable to wait before I can continue reading. This is such a page turner; I definitely missed out on some of sleep since I started, but it was more than worth it.

Honestly, I cannot think of one tiny reason as to not read this book. Everything is perfectly balanced out and you will fall for these characters and their story in no time. I loved everything about this story. If I have to give you one bit of advice though, it’s to keep your account of whatever store you buy your books from close, because once you finish, you’re gonna want to dive head first into the sequel. I know, because I made sure to do the same. 😉

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
