Tags

, , , , ,

Transfer by Aly Martinez

5 starsAlyMartinezTransfer

Synopsis

I fell in love with a man who didn’t exist.

What started out as romance ended in hell.
His words turned to razor blades.
His kisses converted to fists.
His embrace became my cage.
His body transformed into a weapon, stealing parts of me until ultimately….
I broke.

I hated him.
My sole job in life became to protect our daughter.

I wasn’t sure I’d ever escape the prison he’d skillfully crafted from my fears.
Until the day our savior arrived.

This is the story of how I escaped the man who thought he owned me.
The transfer of my life and my family.

My thoughts

Pay attention, people! This book continues the story that started in Retrieval, so you have to read them in order. If you haven’t read Retrieval yet; get outtha here and pick Retrieval up! You don’t want to miss this epic duet!

Now that were only left with Retrieval-readers… Okay, wow! What an ending!! I so did not see that coming! I was so happy to have Transfer waiting nearby, because the second I read that revelation in Retrieval, I dove straight into this one. And I didn’t really want to come back out.

Since the blurb doesn’t give much away about the persons in story and the cliff-hanger in Retrieval will have your jaw hitting the floor and make you go grabby hands on Transfer anyway, I’m not gonna give anything away on how this book is going to play out. It’s for your own good, because you really want the full experience with this one. 😉 I also honestly think no one will have the patience to actually read a review on the second book after that cliff-hanger, but okay. 😂

Let me just tell you that I honestly loved this book. This was the perfect follow-up to Retrieval. It has angst, love, fear, suspense, hurt, bravery and fight all just as perfectly balanced out as in Retrieval. I loved how the story was again told in more than two perspectives. It fitted this story exquisitely. Even though Transfer is Clare’s story, Roman and Elisabeth get plenty of opportunity to speak as well and that does glorious things to the layers of depth to the whole storyline. All of them are beautifully intertwined and that is displayed in this book in this masterly way that only Aly can come up with.

I loved to see the growth Clare went through. We all saw how she lived and the daily torture she went through, that no one in this world should ever have to go through, in Retrieval. Seeing more of her in Transfer and seeing her change and grow was beautiful to see. The unconditional love she has for Tessa is captivating. The amount of selflessness and bravery that woman has is unbelievable.

I’m having a hard time turning this into a long review without giving anything away and omg it doesn’t help at all that I’m so excited about it. I think it’s best to just tell you that this was the perfect conclusion to this series. I fell for all of these people and I feel privileged to have been a part of their lives for a little while. I wish there was more, but at the same time, they have all been through enough drama for an entire lifetime as it is, and another book would definitely mean more drama.

As my very last tiny-piny squeeze of fangirlity(I know that’s not a word, but it is now 😉 ) I thought I loved all there was to Roman Leblanc already, but during Transfer, my love for him exploded. I. Am. Serious. Holy hell that man!! Elisabeth proved to be just as stunning as her man and I fell just as hard for Clare’s story. It is adorable, heartbreaking and swoony as hell. That woman is stronger than she knows and I can only have a ton of respect for her and the life she’s survived.

Now all of you, go and be happy ❤

