Tags

, , , , , ,

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer Armentrout

5.5 stars JenniferArmentroutTheProblemWithForever

Synopsis

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard. 

 

My thoughts

I don’t know where to even start! Okay wow. This is why I fell in love with young adult in the first place a few years back. Holy hell, this book is amazing! I’ve been reading  more new adult lately as I’ve grown into that age myself and I felt more connection to characters of my own age, but The Problem With Forever had me falling in love with young adult all over again. The blurb definitely caught my attention, but I could not have foreseen what this book would do to me. Oh. My god, the feels!!

The first thing that stood out to me  was how descriptive this book is, especially in the beginning. I loved how Mallory is so aware of everything that is going on around her. The way she describes her feelings makes you feel like you’re her. Mallory has so many thoughts and feelings crammed inside her head. She may not speak a lot but she’s not lost on words. They just remain inside her head mostly.

The Problem With Forever slipped into the deep contours of my heart in no time and I know it will stay there. I recognized myself in Mallory at that age to a point where it was unnerving. It was like I’d stepped back a few years in my life and lived there again. And near the end it was like she had grown and evolved further than the point I am now. It’s such a strange experience but at the same time it motivated me to continue the road I’ve been on.

This is a story about self development, the strength of bonds made at a young age, facing the demons that threaten to take you down and rise above them. It’s a story finding out who you are, bravery, young love and SO much more. The way the tale of the beauty and innocence of a first love is described is done magnificently and at the same time it’s such a deeply moving story. Good lord, my heart was in pieces more times than I can count. These two young people have seen and been through more at seventeen that some people get in their entire life. To be a part of hoe they dealt with what was thrown at them was beautiful and sad at the same time. Beautiful because they’re so strong and sad because they deserve so much better.

Goodness these two though!! If you’re looking for me, I’m in a puddle on the floor somewhere. These two are beyond adorable! Rider had me swooning like crazy by far most of the time and Mallory had me proud of standing up against her demons with a fight and willpower a lot of people can take as an example. These two made me fall in love with falling in love. If that makes any sense at all.

Rider, oh Rider. It took about half a page for me to fall in love with him. Seriously. That young man has more decency in his pinky than some people I know have in their entire being. He made me swoon and he made my stomach hurt for him, but it was more than worth it. He has everything I would love to see in a guy and more. Loyal, protective, tender, kind. I could go on and on.

I know I said it before but Mallory made me so proud. The progress she made during this story was admirable. She’s such a strong young woman even if she has trouble seeing that sometimes. There were several times I wished that this book had been written when I was younger, because I think it would have helped me so much to read this back then. Yet at the same time I’m glad to read it now and see that I’m not the same person that I was back then in many ways.

I could go on about this book for hours, but I won’t do that to you. All there’s left for me to say is that I absolutely loved this book and this one is one more addition to the stories that hit me right in the chest and will remain there forever. I love reading books with a deeper meaning and that make me think and this is definitely one of those. Jennifer did a magnificent job of bringing these people to live, and it’s not just the main characters I’m talking about here. They have quite a few of strong and supportive people around them who are just as important to this story.
Gosh, I just want everyone to read this. If you ever doubt yourself or you feel like you’re stuck in life or alone, just read this book. I know it’s a big one but I promise you, you will thank me once you finish.

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
