Tags

, , , ,

Dream Of You from J. Lynn

4.5 starsjlynndreamofyou

Synopsis

Abby Erickson isn’t looking for a one-night stand, a relationship, or anything that involves any one-on-one time, but when she witnesses a shocking crime, she’s thrust into the hands of the sexiest man she’s ever seen – Colton Anders. His job is to protect her, but with every look, every touch, and every simmering kiss, she’s in danger of not only losing her life but her heart also. 

~ Wait For You series #4.5

My thoughts

If I had to describe this book in three words it would be suspenseful, sexy and adorable; making a perfectly balanced-out whole. It is a feel-good novella with a dark twist and some I-need-a-fan heat. It had my heart racing and my mouth turning into a goofy smile equally divided amounts of time.

Abby is unlucky enough to be the witness of a crime. Shocked and thrown off guard, her world turns upside down when the hottest cop in town makes it his personal job to keep her safe. Sparks fly, yet insecurities of the past have a way of screwing with your head at the most inconvenient times and Abby might lose him before she even had him at all. Meanwhile, the danger is far from being extinguished.

Though Dream Of You is a novella, I didn’t get the rushed feeling I normally often feel during novella’s and I loved that. The characters got exactly the right pace for the story to unfold and it wasn’t at all too dwelling or too fast, which made this novella very enjoyable to read.

And I loved the characters themselves. Abby is strong and brave, even though she might not be aware of that herself at all times. She’s known loss, but instead of being scared to open herself up again for the right person, she knows how short life can be and makes sure she lives. And can I just say she has the most holy-mother-of-earth perfect job in the world? Oh my, I don’t like admitting I’m a tiny bit envious, but in a totally positive way of course. Yet her life is everything but rose petals and moonlight. The past left its scars on her and at times it’s impossible to ignore that evil voice in the back of your head.

Then there is Colton Anders and yes, we know this fine piece of ass and the big brother of Reece. Oh. Yes. The droolworthiness of this guy is just… oh my! His charming ways, the chivalry, the mystery of a cop… I could talk about him all day. He made me feel very alive and had my heart melting into a big puddle several times. He swiped me right off my feet with half of both the words that came out of his mouth and his actions. I wish I had cops like that in my town. This man is good to the core and blessed in all the right ways. And with that I mean his personality. Mostly. 😉

I really loved Dream of You. It’s cute, hot and dark and I can’t think of one reason why someone could not enjoy this story. J. Lynn knows how to write stories that flow perfectly with growing, engaging characters and with it being a novella, it’s a perfect in between read.

 * I used the cover from Goodreads
