Tags

, , , , ,

Barrett & Ivan by A.D. Ellis

4.5 starsadellis-barrettandivan

Synopsis

Despite the curve balls thrown at him throughout his childhood, Barrett Kenner is now a successful musician. The only thing missing is romance.

Ivan Romanov killed a man to save his sister’s life. Although he has served his time, Ivan’s past left him with baggage far heavier than the meager belongings he carries out of prison.

Barrett clings to the memory of a fervent kiss, a kiss that Ivan tries to pretend meant nothing. When the two men finally accept their feelings for each other, life should be smooth sailing, but the past still lurks in the shadows.

Can Barrett and Ivan protect their love and their lives, or will dangers from long ago be more than they can withstand?

**This is a male/male romance meant for ages 18+ due to adult language and adult situations.**

 

My thoughts

I’ll admit that I’ve jumped into this series halfway. It’s something I’ve never done before, but after a little investigation showed me that every book was about totally different characters, I figured I was safe. And boy did in enjoy this book.

Barrett and Ivan are the main characters of this book, big surprise there 😉 , and I loved getting to know these men better. We dive right into the scene where the boys share a heated, yet desperate kiss that haunts Barrett for a long time. It makes him question things he never even considered, but with Ivan stuck in prison and him waving it off as nothing, there isn’t much Barrett can do.

Yet what happens when Ivan served his time and comes face to face with Barrett again? Both boys grew into men during their time apart and the tension spikes with their reunion. Both men know life ain’t easy, they’re used to the bumps in the road, yet the the biggest bump might still be yet to come.

Both of these characters had me smiling often. They were sweet, caring and funny, but Ivan also has undeniable demons haunting him, always luring close by. I loved to see both of them grow throughout the story and turn into wonderful souls. I saw Ivan battle against the demons from his past and I saw how Barrett stands tall for what he wants won’t let anyone deter him from his path. They’re both stronger and braver than they realize and I loved being a part of their adventure.

* I used the cover from Goodreads
