Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Long Way Home by Katie McGarry

5KatieMcGarryLongWayHome stars 

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.

It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.

But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness.

Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.

 

My thoughts

We’re back! Back into Snowflake, back into the suspenseful life of the Reign Of Terror, back to motorcycles, the family of black cuts and back into the never-ending war between two rival motorcycle clubs.

All Violet wants is out. She wants peace and freedom. She wants space to grieve the loss of her father who passed away while working for the Terror. She knows it’s her time to step up to take care of her family now that her father is gone. Feeling like her only option to keep her loved ones safe is to cut ties with the club, she must also say goodbye to the only boy she has ever loved.

No matter how hard Violet pushes, the Reign Of Terror takes care of their family, and even though her father is no longer around, Violet, her brother and her mom are considered just that. They want to take care of them, and Violet’s brother Brandon and her mom want to be taken care of. It’s Violet who was raised to be a strong, independent young woman and can’t stand to be treated differently or not taken seriously just because she’s a girl. Yet when her world is turned upside down by a rival club, she starts question all the things she always thought she knew.

I love Violet and that’s kind of ironic since I didn’t like her all that much during the first two books. Being inside her head and seeing the things she went through and meeting the true Violet, I can honestly say that she and I have a lot in comment, though she is WAAYYY tougher than me – she’s a biker-girl, after all. 😉 She’s brave as hell, fights for what she wants and she’s stronger than most men. I love how she won’t let herself get pushed around. She ain’t anyone’s property and she won’t let you doubt it for a second.

Chevy feels like he’s sitting on the side line, feeling like crap as he sees the girl he loved his whole life pull away from his family more and more. Already feeling like being in the middle of a tug-and-war between his mom and the club, he’s also getting in the middle between the Coach of his football team and the club, and Violet and the club. Not wanting to hurt anyone he loves, he’s stuck in the middle and has no idea what path to take.

 

“’Two roads. One path. Can’t take both.’ The guy who wrote it acts like the choice should be easy. It’s not.” – Katie McGarry, Long Way Home

 

Chevy is a good guy. Out of the three, Oz, Razor and him, I’d say Chevy is the most normal one. He’s loyal and a caretaker, he’s protective over the ones he loves and he’s a huge teddybear. Just don’t get on his bad side, because he’s got McKinley’s blood running through his veins, and once you have him on your tail, he’ll thunder over you in no time.

I loved to see these two people grow. Katie has a way of creating characters that grow magnificently throughout a story in a way that make you want to meet them in person. She makes them come to live in a way like they’re real people and it gives her stories so much depth. I love all of Katie’s books and Long Way Home is no different. What came as a very welcoming surprize, too, was how her other series, Pushing The Limits, is intertwined into this book is this absolute perfect way. I love seeing glimpses of the other characters in newer books and we not only got glimpses from the characters in this series, but also from Pushing The Limits! Doesn’t get much better than that.

Long Way Home is the third and, as far as I can see now, last instalment of the Thunder Road series and that makes me a bit sad. I so don’t want to say goodbye to Snowflake and all the members from The Reign Of Terror! Though I guess I would never want to say goodbye, even if another ten books were to be written. That’s just what Katie does to me. I don’t want to get out of their world again.

This book has suspension that had me on the edge of my seat, loyalty that had my heart warming, love that made me feel fuzzy and angst that had me biting my nails. Long Way Home has it all and I can’t think of one reason not to recommend this book. So, what are you waiting for? 😉

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
