Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Overview 2016

2016 has been a wonderful book year. I’ve read many beautiful books with stories that touched me deeply and now that the year has ended, I liked the idea of giving some extra attention to the books I loved the most last year. I meant to write this at the actual end of 2016 but life’s been hectic, so why not start the new year off reminiscing the best books of the previous year. 😉

There are six books I rated at 5.5 stars or higher that I want to praise a little more. Please keep in mind that it’s been quite a few months since I read most of these books and that my brain isn’t as good at remembering as I wish it would be, so I won’t get into much detail. Just know that these stories found a way into my heart a little deeper than the rest of them. If you want to read my full review on them, they will be at the links I’ll insert under the book titles.

ColleenHooverTooLateToo Late by Colleen Hoover was such a fun and unique experience. The story was uploaded chapter by chapter on Wattpad and it had me almost jumping in my seat at every ending, knowing I’d had to wait for the next one. It was different, dark, a little over the top and funny, but the subject matter was oh so important. It’s something that should be taken way more seriously. I truly loved this story and let’s not forget to mention that it’s free 😉

Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan was a deeply moving and heart breaking MiaSheridanGraysonsVowstory of two amazing souls who were fighting hard not to drown. They’re desperate and hopeless, but an unusual business agreement may change the future of two beautiful people forever. Both of these characters spoke to me in a way that touched me deeply, recognizing their fears and the way they acted in situations in myself. Mia has a way of making me fall in love with the
heroin just as much as with the hero, and I felt that way in Grayson’s Vow even stronger than in her other books.

DirectIngest,

Walk The Edge by Katie McGarry is a Young Adult book and is the second book in the Thunderroad series. I gotta say, when the hero was introduced in the first book, I was immediately intrigued by him and to say I was excited when I heard the second book would be about him was an understatement. And did it deliver. Oh. Yes. Being a part of a motorcycle club and all of its assets and angles is incredibly exciting. It had my heartrate up high a lot and the story between the two main characters was beautifully written.

AlyMartinezTheFallUp
The Fall Up was the first book I read from Aly Martinez and she had me
addicted to her style of writing in no time. I loved the characters, loved the plot, loved the writing style. I laughed so hard I could barely breathe and at the same time my heart broke for the ache these two went through. This is such a beautiful story.

ColleenHooverItEndsWithUsThere is no doubt in my mind that the best book I’ve read this year is It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. It’s gripping, moving, absolutely heartbreaking and stunningly beautiful. It’s a book I truly believe everyone should read and it contains a subject that needs much more attention. The characters are amazingly displayed and I still think back on them on a regular basis five months after I finished the book. It’s a one of a kind read. If there’s only one book I can recommend for the rest of my life, it would be It Ends With Us.

bntolerwhereonegoesWhen I read the blurb from Where One Goes by BN Toler, I knew I was bound to get my heart broken into a million pieces during this book. I was right. My heart was torn to pieces, but I wouldn’t have wanted to miss the beautifulness of this story for the world. Grief, heartache and loss are very important themes in this book, but so are loyalty, love and bravery. These characters will take you on an emotional road that will leave you drained, but in the best way possible.

