Tags

, , , ,

A Beautiful Funeral by Jamie McGuire

5 starsjamiemcguireabeautifulfuneral

Synopsis

Losing has never been easy for a Maddox, but death always wins.

Eleven years to the day after eloping in Vegas with Abby, Special Agent Travis Maddox delivers his own brand of vigilante justice to mob boss Benny Carlisi. Vegas’s oldest and most violent crime family is now preparing for vengeance, and the entire Maddox family is a target.

The secret Thomas and Travis have kept for a decade will be revealed to the rest of the family, and for the first time the Maddoxes will be at odds. While none of them are strangers to loss, the family has grown, and the risk is higher than ever. With brothers against brothers and wives taking sides, each member will make a choice—let the fear tear them apart, or make them stronger.

 

My thoughts

In A Beautiful Funeral we dive back into the Maddox family and boy, with all the Maddox men coming together and with the biggest secret in the family coming to light, it sure was one hell of a ride. It was as exciting as it was emotional and had me biting my nails and had my heart racing with anticipation and angst.

Now that Travis shook the basis of the most violent crime family in Vegas, the Carlisi’s are seeking revenge and the whole Maddox family is in danger. With their numbers larger than ever, the risks of losing a loved one spikes, and the Carlisi’s stop at nothing.

Yet we can’t deny that the Maddox men are fierce. Fierce in their way of living and fierce in the way they love. They will fight for what they stand for until the end, but when lies and deception divides their tight bond for the first time and everyone is taking sides at the most dangerous time, they might lose something precious to them in the process.

I’ll admit that it took me a moment to get back into all the different stories again (though that has more likely to do with my memory failure than anything else) but once I was in, I didn’t want to get out again and found myself trying to sneak away from daily tasks just so I could read some more. I fell hard for each one of their stories and to see them all coming together in one book was a wonderful thing to see. I loved how they all had their own lives and families build for themselves and how these men can differ so much and be similar at the same time. I will always love the Maddox men and every chance of seeing something more about their lives will have me jumping in anticipation and this was no different. And honestly, this cover is just the most tasty cherry on top of the cake 😉

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
