Tags

, , , , ,

Where One Goes by BN Toler

5.5 stars bntolerwhereonegoes

Synopsis

What happens when the very thing ruining your life ends up saving it?

I was never one to believe in spirits—until six years ago, when a bone-chilling accident changed my life… forever.

My name is Charlotte, but most people call me Char… and I have a special gift.

I talk to the dead.

Make no mistake, I can’t summon them. I’m only able to see and speak to the spirits that linger when they’re unable to crossover. They’re somehow weighted to the world with unfinished affairs. And for the last six years, I’ve relentlessly used my gift to help their lost souls.

But it’s come at a price. My life is dark. Feeling despondent, I’ve begun to give up. And in helping the dead, I’ve realized I haven’t allowed myself to live. With no money, no place to go, and most importantly… no hope, I’ve decided there is only one option—to end it all.

But fate is a funny thing. One minute, I’m about to leap to my death, and the next, I’m saved by Ike McDermott. The strong, striking soldier stopped me from putting an end to my despair. He’s the kind of man that smiles and brightens an entire room.

Sweet and gentle.

He is my savior.

And he’s dead.

We’ve made an agreement. He’ll help me find a place to stay and a new job if I’ll help him with his unfinished business so that he may crossover.

Ike’s unfinished matter involves his twin brother, George. George has been falling apart since Ike’s death and Ike has not been able to compel himself to crossover in peace until he knows George will be okay.

When I agreed to help, little did I know that I’d fall in love with the charming folks of Bath County, and… Ike and George McDermott.

Now, as both brothers own equal parts of my heart, I am faced with a cruel and unfair predicament. In saving George, I must let go of Ike.

But how does one let go of half of their heart? 

 

My thoughts

When I read the synopsis of Where One Goes, I knew this book was going to break my heart multiple times before I was finished. I also knew this was unlike anything I’d ever read before. And I was right, on both accounts. This book is a beautiful story of how a single encounter can shine a little light on the darkest day of your life and how a little kindness can alter it forever. It’s a story about hope, friendship and loyalty. It’s a story about the bond between siblings, grief and letting go.

Charlotte has a beautiful, caring spirit who’s been helping the dead cross over for six years, but in doing so, she finds herself lonely, sad and hanging on by a thread. When she’s out of money and has no place to go, she’s mentally exhausted and just wants it to end. Just before she plummets to her dead, Ike McDermott comes to her saviour.

Kind hearted, funny and with a smile that makes you melt, Ike is everything Charlotte has missed all this time and finally makes her feel a little more alive. But he’s also dead. They make a deal to help each other; Ike will help Charlotte find a job and a place to stay to get her to a better place again, while Charlotte will help Ike with his unfinished business that ties him to earth; his twin brother George. Yet in helping him, Charlotte falls not only for Ike, but also for George. But how will she be able to let go of one half of her heart?

There were many sides to this story. While Where One Goes is just as heart breaking as I’d feared at the beginning, I also had a lot of fun reading it. Because even though this is a sad story, it also has a lot of humour that had me in a laughing fit quite often. Ike is hilarious and Charlotte has the most genius comebacks. She won’t let anyone push her around and she knows perfectly how to stand up for herself in a positive way. She’s also brilliantly clumsy and has one of the sweetest souls I’ve seen. The humour was needed, though, because holy shit it was heart breaking too. I felt the grief Charlotte felt. I felt like I lost someone dear to me myself. The emotions run so high when Charlotte is showing people what she can do and it’s such a beautiful thing to witness.

Ike and George were something else altogether. It was intriguing to see two people that are so similar and yet so different at the same time. And honestly, I can’t blame Charlotte for falling for both of them, because I did the same. I fell hard for Ike, knowing it was gonna break me in the end because he was dead, but George stole my heart just the same. These brothers are so easy to love.

I have to give a shout-out to the side characters, because they added so much value and depth to this story. I think everyone should meet Sniper. He’s just brilliant. The setting is beautiful too. I love the author admitted this is a real place and it feels magical to be there during fall. Now, I don’t live in the States and I will probably never have the chance to see it for myself, but I can’t deny I’m very curious about it. I can continue for quite some time about all the things I loved about this book, but I’ll get to an end, in fear of giving too much of the story away. 😉

Where One Goes is a tear breaker, and one of epic proportions, but I wouldn’t have wanted to miss it for the world. The tears just kept dripping down my cheeks nearly constantly through the whole last 20% of it and that’s not usual for me at all, but the beauty behind this story is just so moving. Where One Goes has all the feels and I loved every second of it. It left me whishing both Ike, George and Charlotte were living persons somewhere in this world and I could meet them. I feel grateful for being a part of their story.

* I used the cover from Goodreads
