Tags

, , , , , ,

F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

5 starstarrynfisherfucklove

Synopsis

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

 

My thoughts

Before I start, I need to say that I took a month reading this book, so I barely remember events from the beginning or the right order of it. It wasn’t because of the book that I took so long, just life being its hectic self. Just know that the reason I won’t go into much detail in this review is because I just can’t remember it very well, only how it made me feel, it has nothing to do with the book itself.

That said, this was quite a story. I felt like a pinball going one way and then the other the entire time. Every time I thought things were slowing down and I was at the top of the machine, gravity sucked me down the slope again, and I was hitting everything in my way. Imagine how Helena must feel.

Helena is living a generally calm life until one event has her rethinking her whole life. It puts her in perspective of where she wants the rest of her life to go, questioning a million things. She’s sad and lonely, trying to figure out her place in the world, but having a hard time finding it. And that’s everything but easy, especially when you fall for your best friend’s boyfriend.

Helena is one of a kind. She speaks her mind and is caring and kind and just a little weird. She tries her best to make the right decisions based on other people’s feelings, but who will be left to sit on the blisters in the end? And what if for once, she decides to make herself happy?

There were a lot of things I recognized myself in in Helena and at the same time we were totally different, which was refreshing. The side characters in this book add a lot to the story, some more than others, and some had me wanting to lock them behind some thick door. Seriously.

F*ck Love is not a typical contemporary romance book. It’s deep and makes you think hard about your own life. It shows how life can be a struggle and how love can be a fight. How once you have something to fight for, no battle will be in vain, despite the many obstacles you find in your path.

This is the first book I’ve read from Tarryn Fisher. I’ve read her collaboration series together with Colleen Hoover, but that was a fun project. I loved seeing bits and pieces of Tarryn in Helena. I have to say she is definitely not a typical romance author and I think that’s exactly what I like about her. F*ck Love is not your cheesy romantic love story, but a book with deep meaning and intense thought.

 

“Nothing worth finding is actually easy to find,”

― Tarryn Fisher, F*ck Love

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads

 

