Tags

, , , , ,

Up In Flames by Abbi Glines

4 starsAbbiGlinesUpInFlames

 

Synopsis

#1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines returns to Rosemary Beach one last time in this highly-anticipated finale.

Spoiled. Selfish. Rich girl. Villain. Slut.

As the Prada-clad bad girl of Rosemary Beach, Nan Dillon has been called every vile name under the hot summer sun. Some of her reputation is deserved—she’s never had to worry about anything but maintaining her perfect figure and splitting Daddy’s private jet with her brother, Rush.

But Nan is far from happy. Rush has another kid on the way and doesn’t have time to catch up with his sister. Grant, the last guy she truly cared about, chose to be with her half-sister, Harlow, instead of her. And Harlow, who has never gotten over the way Nan treated her when she first moved to town, remains distant.

So when Major asks her out, she jumps at the chance to date the gorgeous charmer. Though she doesn’t know much about the sweet-talking Texan, and though it’s clear he doesn’t want to be exclusive, dating him beats hanging out with vapid socialites or watching Netflix alone at home.

For a while, Nan deals with Major’s playboy ways, but after he burns her one too many times, she takes off for an impromptu wild weekend in Vegas. There, she meets Gannon, a darkly seductive and oh-so-dangerous businessman who knows exactly how to handle her.

With Major asking for a second chance and Gannon haunting her dreams, Nan has to decide who to give her heart to. But what she doesn’t realize is that these players are involved in a much bigger game—and they’re already two moves ahead of her.

 

My thoughts

 

Well, that was something. I can’t believe this is the last book in the Rosemary Beach series. This is it, guys, no more Rosemary Beach adventures and panty-dropping hotties with happy endings and lovable stories. And we ended with the most callous person there ever was in this whole series.

Nanette Dillon.

Daughter of Kiro Manning. Rich. Self-centred. We all know her by now. We know she’s cold and bitter. We’ve seen the heartless things she’s done over the years. We all loved hating her (I know I did). Yet this time, we’re inside her head. We get to see the thoughts behind her actions. And I have to admit, she wasn’t as icy in the last few books as all the way in the beginning before I started Up In Flames. Not that that makes her a cuddler all of a sudden, no worries.

I have to say, it really was Nan’s book. That shone through in different ways and it’s giving me a hard time rating this book, because… I’ve hated Nan as a person for so long that I can’t just decide she’s amazing. Because she’s not. She’s deeply flawed and she lashes out to the people around her without thinking in a seriously harmful way, but she’s also a very hurt woman. And lonely. And maybe even misunderstood in a way. Searching desperately for that one man who finally can handle her. A man who will change for her. Yet men willing to handle Nan are hard to find…

Major is a playboy. Everyone knows it so he doesn’t try to hide it in the least. He knows he has a pretty face, he’s cocky as hell about it too, and he thinks he knows all with his seductive smile and charming words, but when he makes one mistake too many, he may very well lose something he unknowingly held dear after all.

Gannon is the opposite of Major. Where Major is boyish, Gannon is all man. He’s cold, detached, rough, dangerous. A business man. Even though Nan knows she’ll should be afraid of the evil darkness that looms in his eyes, it draws her in instead. Yet when the true darkness of Gannon comes to light, where will Nan run?

As I read Up In Flames, there were times I was annoyed. There were times I was floored. There was even a moment I was on the verge of throwing this book out of the window screaming. Looking back though, I’m pretty glad I didn’t throw this book in a corner and scolded at it for days, because I wouldn’t have wanted to miss this ending. That ending had me smiling for Nan, and seriously, that’s something. The thing is, Nan is strong willed, and once she finds a way to finally put all that strength into something positive, there’s no stopping her. She just has to stop lashing it out in the negative way she’s always done. There is a good woman in there somewhere (I was surprized too, but) there really is. She just needs the right man to bring it out.

The sex scenes were a different story, I have to be honest about that. They were a little too rough for me personally, but if you’re a fan of Fifty Shades of Grey, I’m pretty sure you will like them. (Don’t shoot me if I’m wrong, though, I’ve never read FSOG) I’ve grown used to the way intimate scenes are written in this series over the years, but this was a little too hot for me. In a way I knew it fitted Nan’s story, so I did understand why they were like this. It’s just not my cup of tea. Ahum.

Up In Flames is definitely not the typical lovestory kind of book. Far from it, actually. Then again, Nan isn’t exactly your typical heroine, so that totally makes sense. It’s not the story I would have expected for Nan, but I can’t deny it is a perfect match. I’m glad I’ve heard Nan’s side of the story. I’ll probably never be as excited about her as I am about most other girls in this series, but I am definitely happy for her. In the end, she didn’t exactly get a shiny, lovable start in life.

 

 

*********** Spoilers ************ 

 
The beginning had me like, ‘Wait what?’ ‘Huh?’ ‘How did we get here exactly again?’ I had the feeling I dove in in the middle of the story. If I hadn’t read The Best Goodbye 6 months ago, I wouldn’t have had a clue what was going on. We dive in at the point where Nan is sick of Major’s playboy ways and she takes off to Vegas to find distraction. It had me wanting to look back in The Best Goodbye to see how the heck Major and Nan even got to the part of dating. Seriously, when did that happen?

I LOVED The Best Goodbye and honestly, all the books in this series but Up In Flames doesn’t have me as excited as I hoped it would. It was shallowly written after the deeply emotional story of Addy and River, but at the same time, it’s Nan’s story and Nan is a shallow person and that makes me having a hard time figuring out if the style had more to do with the characters themselves than the author or not. I know Abbi normally has me addicted to her characters in no time so I’m leaning more to the character side of the scale. It’s a shame though. At some point in this book I just wanted to finish it, not because I was excited, but just so I could move on to the next book. I’ve never had that with Abbi before. The last part made up for most of my annoyance though, except for Major’s selfishness. I really don’t know what was up with him. He was way funnier in my memory…

Speaking of Major. What happened to him? I remembered him being flirty. I remembered him being cocky, and a playboy, but seriously? Major is kind of a respectless dick. He thinks he likes the super-hotness that is Nan and he sees the vulnerable side of her but he can’t deal with all that is Nan so he finds his release of tension with other women he doesn’t even bother of asking their name. Major was definitely better in my memory. Honestly, when Nan put him right on the spot and told him what a douchebag he was, I was seriously cheering on the Nan-team. He deserved that. And then causing his family to hurt like that? What was the need to do that? I wanted to yell at his stupid face. I can’t believe he put his family through that because he thinks he’s the man.

What I also found sad, is that Cope didn’t have an outspoken voice. Major got many chapters to his name, but I could count Cope’s on one hand. I would have liked to know more form his side, because now it seemed like he went from cold and emotionless to loving Nan and a soft man all of a sudden. It was kind of a strange transition. Cope was definitely surprizing at the end though. He totally won me over there. I just wish I’d seen more of that man before the last 4 or so chapters.

* I used the cover from Goodreads
