Tags

, , , , ,

The Spiral Down by Aly Martinez

5.5 stars AlyMartinezTheSpiralDown

Synopsis

Standalone M/M romance.

I was afraid to fly.
He made me soar.

After years of climbing the ladder of success in the music industry, I finally had everything I could want.
Yet I still found myself wandering through life alone.

Captain Evan Roth was the one man I never saw coming.
Tall, dark, mysterious… Straight.

We were both damaged beyond repair and searching for something so elusive we weren’t sure it even existed.

But, when two broken souls collide in midair, falling is a given.

I just never expected to crave the spiral down.

 

My thoughts

 

My heart is so full and giddy right now! Oh my god, I need more. Please give me more of this family! Levee, Sam, Henry, Evan… I. Can’t. Get. Enough!!!

For the ones who read my review of The Fall Up, you know how much I loved those two and Henry and how jumping-in-my-seat excited I was when I found out about Henry getting his own story. For the ones who didn’t, no worries, I won’t be spoiling anything on Levee and Sam’s behalf. You’re gonna have to read their wonderful story for yourself. 😉 Holy shit, though! I’ve loved Henry from the second I met him in The Fall Up and my love for that man only grew the better I got to know him.

Henry Alexander is well… Henry. There’s no better way to describe him. He’s one of a kind. He’s charming and funny as hell. I burst out laughing many times. He’s openly gay and I absolutely love that he doesn’t hide his preference at all. He’s such a good guy and he lives for the rush of the stage and his fans howling in front of him. It’s where he comes to life. Yet even though he’s been at the top of the music industry for years and behind all the big talk and confident smiles, there’s an insecurity looming around every corner and there’s still something missing in his life every time he comes home alone.

 

“The one thing I really wanted could never be bought. I wasn’t even sure it could be earned. It was something so rare that I feared it didn’t actually exist. Love. Unconditional. Unwavering. Eternal. Love.” – Aly Martinez

 

Captain Evan Roth found his home in the sky. When everything is falling, the clouds are where he finds his reprieve. Being burnt bad before and in the middle of another breakup, he starts to wonder if he will ever find that one person that believes he is enough.

Henry and Evan’s story is one of love, loss, hurt and betrayal. Both of them are broken by their past. Both are trying desperately to protect those last remaining broken pieces of their soul by building walls. Neither of them expected the fall to be so hard.

I loved The Spiral Down. Henry is as sassy and confident as they come, his smart-ass comebacks and his don’t-care attitude in this hilarious, funny way. He is so easy to love. His background story is heartbreaking though. For someone as bright and good as him, he never deserved the past he received. Yet the same can be said about Evan. He has a heart of gold and his kindness is heartwarming. He’s more pulled back than Henry but once you get to know him, he’s a beautiful soul who’s considerate, protective and sweet. He has trouble figuring out what he wants, because of the past he has, but once he knows it, he’ll walk through fire for the ones he loves.

Evan and Henry together are just… *sigh* I loved every single second of it. The sexual tension is off the records high and it had me grateful I was alone in bed most of the time, but it wasn’t just that. They respect each other and they’re adorable together and it made me want happiness so bad for these two.

I can say without a doubt that this is my most favourite M/M book I’ve read so far. Easily. I’ll admit that I haven’t read many from published authors, but I have read many M/M stories on wattpad over the years and love those. That’s what had me curious about published M/M books in the first place. I don’t know what it is about gay couples, but I adore them. It has me feeling all warm and giddy if I see a gay couple walking down the street. Why? I’m not sure. Maybe it’s because I love seeing that softer side of men that straight guys don’t often show(at least not the ones I know). Maybe it’s knowing that there are less gay people in the world than straight and knowing I don’t seem to be able to get just one boyfriend in my entire life until now while being straight, and seeing a gay couple makes me think of the struggle of coming out they have already been through and how lucky they are to have found each other when they have so much less persons to choose from. Does that sound weird? I don’t know. I just know it makes me happier to see a gay couple than a straight one. And Henry and Evan had me sitting around with a goofy smile on my face.

 

“Life is a struggle, but it’s who you chose to take on the journey with you that matters the most.”

― Aly Martinez, The Spiral Down

 

Aly’s writing style and the way this woman makes the characters come to life in her books is just so addicting. I love it-love it- LOVE IT! She has me falling head over heels for her characters in no time and wishing I could just be inside the cover and back of that book all day. And yes, Levee and Sam played a perfect part in The Spiral Down. I loved every glimpse I got from them and it aligned with Henry and Evans story perfectly. Now I’m just sad it’s over, to be honest. I’m gonna miss these two. 😦

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
