Tags

, , , , ,

The Fall Up by Aly Martinez

5.5 stars AlyMartinezTheFallUp

Synopsis

I wanted to jump.
He made me fall.

As a celebrity, I lived in the public eye, but somewhere along the way, I’d lost myself in the spotlight.

Until he found me.

Sam Rivers was a gorgeous, tattooed stranger who saved my life with nothing more than a simple conversation.

But we were both standing on that bridge for a reason the night we met. The secrets of our pasts brought us together—and then tore us apart.

Could we find a reason to hold on as life constantly pulled us down?

Or maybe there’s only one direction to go when two people fall in love at rock bottom—up

 

My thoughts

After I read the blurb, I knew I had to read this book. And holy shit, what a great idea that was! I was sucked into The Fall Up from the very first sentence and I didn’t come up for air until the end. It had me thinking about this couple during the entire day. This incredibly emotional road and the good-to-the-core characters had me glued to the pages and needing to find out what life would throw at them next the whole time.

Levee wants to jump. She has it all, so why does she wish she could say goodbye to it?

Sam will make her fall. He is desperate to find something great. The word ‘fine’ makes his skin crawl, so when a woman obscured by shades and a wig says she’s fine to him, the hairs in his neck stand tall.

A coincidental encounter between two people from different worlds in a place of sadness. A search for distraction. An attempt to reach out a hand to a stranger. Who knew how a simple gesture would change both of their lives forever. The question remains, when the beautiful distraction sizzles down to denying, what turn will the road take? After all, they met at that bridge for a reason.

This book was intense, emotional and heart-breaking right from the start. My heart ached for these two long before I even found out the whole truth to their story. Why? Because both of these people are incredible human beings. They’re kind, caring and selfless. Brave, strong and compassionate. Both of these characters really spoke to me. They were so defined in their personalities. I loved being a part of every single moment of their journey. And I kind of wish it was longer. Although with these two, I’m afraid it would never be long enough. 😉

You wonder what has me falling head over heels for a guy in no time? Well, sit down for this. *rubs hands together* If he is tattooed, creative, selfless, sweet, compassionate, caring, protective, a guy who has humour. I’m a goner. For sure. Utterly and completely. Oh, did I mention romantic? And a tiny touch of adorable awkwardness? And abs you say holy wow to? And just a heart of gold?
Yeah. With guys like that it takes less than a split second.
Sam. Had. It. All.
I fell so hard for this man it is unbelievable. He was so perfectly imperfect! Of course he has his flaws but my god I would cheerfully welcome them in if it means I get a guy like Sam in my life. Like in the general way, just being in his presence would be enough. And I mean that. And to top it off he also has one of my favourite names! It’s a match made in heaven!

I loved Levee just as much. She is such an amazing woman. She cares a little too much about everyone for her own good, but that makes also makes her the amazing woman she is. She’s beautiful inside and out, but she was unfortunate enough to lose track of herself in the chaotic-ness of her spotlight life.

One of the things that captivated me the most is the humour. All the witty bantering and sassy responses between these two. The hilarious comebacks and belly-aching jokes. I can’t put into words how much love I have for how this book is written. The concept of the story is heart wrenching and sad, but the humour is so amazingly in contrast with that, it makes the whole thing perfectly balanced. Which is also why I’m dying to find out if her other books are like this. The humour was so needed, though. Because beside the fact that this is a beautiful story, it’s also a heart-breaking one. Yet not a story I would have wanted to miss for anything.

There is all love and praise for this book from me. From the theme to the characters to the cover (which is absolutely stunning) to the writing style. Everything fits perfectly and I am more than excited to find out if Aly’s other books are like this. Because if they are, I may have found a new favourite author. And you can never have enough of those. 😉

Ohhh also!! Almost forgot! :O There is a second book in this series and it’s a standalone and HOLY MOLY when I found out who’s story it was I nearly jumped out of my seat!! I swear I can’t wait for my paperback to arrive because I SO need to read that book!!!

Well I’m off, diving into the next Aly Martinez book in the meantime!  See you in a few! 😉

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
