Tags

, , , , , , ,

Walk The Edge by Katie MCgarry

5.5 stars

DirectIngest,

Synopsis

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here. 

 

My thoughts

We’re back – we’re back – we’re BACK! Back in Snowflake, back in the mysterious world of the motorcycle club the Reign Of Terror, back inside the turbulent lives of its members. Oh, how I missed this place! And before I forget to mention, you can read this book as a standalone. No need to read Nowhere But Here first – although I wouldn’t know why you wouldn’t want to read it because holy shit I loved that book just the same. Oz and Emily totally won my heart.

Oh, I loved this book so much!! I have to admit I have been a huge Katie McGarry fan ever since I opened Pushing The Limits a few years back, and even though we’re on to a different series now, I absolutely adore all her characters just the same. She has the ability to write engaging and badass characters with difficult lives and a great personality, a heart of gold and a bravery I could only dream off. And have you seen this cover? Wow! So stunning! I love it!

Walk The Edge is the story of Breanna Miller and Thomas Turner or otherwise known as Razor from The Reign Of Terror, a member of the feared motorcycle club in the small town on Snowflake. Breanna is smart, she’s quiet and all she wants is to be accepted to a private school where she knows she’ll fit in better than in her own 9-kids-family because of the way her mind works.

One night of not living up to her perfect reputation, a night of just being a teen, a desperate attempt to fit in for once in her life, jeopardises everything she worked for and sends her right to the arms of Razor.

Razor is haunted by a past he doesn’t have answers to. And he’s desperate to get them. To finally find peace in a world of chaos. He lives for his club, his brothers, but when they’re the ones keeping the answers from him, who is there left to trust?

 

‘Most people avoid me, easily leaving two feet between us, and here is this little warrior trudging into battle without armor.
Terrified I’ll break her, I weave my arms around her and hug her back. My eyes shut when she settles furthering into me. I rest my cheek on her head and simply breathe.’ – Katie McGarry, Walk The Edge

 

Oh, how I came to love these two! I watched as Breanna crawled out of her shell bit by bit with the company of the most feared teenage member of a motorcycle club she’s always been told was evil. I watched as she went from always following the rules to being brave and listening to her heart. I saw Razor going from cold, hard and distant to this soft, sweet and super protective guy he hid on the inside. But fear not! His badass-motorcycle-club-member side is never too far away. Nor is his sexiness. 😉

 

‘The boy everyone sees but nobody knows is with the girl who everybody knows but nobody sees.’ – Katie MCGarry, Walk The Edge

 

The growth both of them made was a beautiful thing to watch. They found understanding, hope and an unlikely friendship in each other when they were used to feeling alone. And they were so adorable together! I loved how Razor immediately stood up to Breanna’s defence. And that was one of the most important themes of this book. Blackmailing. Being threatened for being yourself for one night. I really admire how Katie portrait the theme and how Breanna dealt with it.

 

“Don’t let your fears create walls or define you.”  – Katie McGarry, Walk The Edge

 

There were so many sentences I wanted to memorise in Walk The Edge. I have a whole list! Words that made me melt, words that held so much truth, words that outright send me in a laughing fit. The tread between the characters and the Reign Of Terror was different here than in Nowhere But Here, yet this story really needed that, so I’m really glad Katie did it this way. And truth be told, the brotherhood feeling of family, not having to be related by blood, came through loud and clear and I can’t help but wanting to meet all of these people. And seeing parts of Emily and Oz in here makes me miss them and desperately want to reread their book again! I so love those two! It was awesome to see a little bit of them.

 

“Are you smiling?” Chevy asks. “Shit, you’re smiling again. That’s the second time in two days. Gotta admit, that scares the hell out of me.”  – Katie McGarry, Walk The Edge

 

This book had me wishing I was free all day so I could continue. That’s how much I loved it. I couldn’t wait to get home and find myself some place quiet and alone so I could dive right back in where I’d left off. It was beautiful, exciting, intense, heart-racing, sweet and sad. All combined in the perfect balance.

 

‘This is heartbreaking and consuming and addictive. It’s terrifying and peaceful, crazy and serene. It’s a million things in one brief moment and it’s something I don’t understand and never want to live without.’ – Katie McGarry, Walk The Edge

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
