Tags

, , , , ,

Grayson’s Vow by Mia Sheridan

5.5 stars MiaSheridanGraysonsVow

 

Synopsis

A full-length, standalone romance from the New York Timesbestselling author of Archer’s Voice.

Kira Dallaire is desperate.

Some challenges in life seem too hard to overcome. With little money, and even fewer options, the quick-witted and vibrant twenty-two-year-old needs to reinvent herself. Known for her generous heart and impulsive personality, she devises a survival plan, possibly her most outrageous idea yet.

Grayson Hawthorn is losing hope.

Some obstacles in life seem too hard to overcome. Betrayal definitely being one of them. With limited capital, and dwindling resources, he is attempting to resurrect his failing family vineyard, a self-imposed vow seemingly destined to fail. That is until a young woman enters his office with an outlandish, unexpected proposition impossible to refuse.

What begins as a temporary business arrangement, soon evolves into more as vivacious, spirited Kira challenges detached, arrogant Grayson to want more from life. To want more for himself. But as their wills clash and fiery passion ignites, they’ll realize that sometimes the past creates walls too difficult to climb, and that lies and deception rarely precede a happily every after.

As Kira and Grayson race toward their destiny, they will discover that some vows are meant to be broken, and others are worth risking everything for . . . even your very own heart.

THIS IS A STANDALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY LIBRA. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

My thoughts
This truly is a beautiful, raw and emotional story about two incredible human beings, who are handed an immensely hard hand in life. They’re desperate. They’re hopeless. They’re misunderstood. And yet they still fight for their freedom. They fight for their vows. Grayson’s Vow is about family and manipulation, grief and loyalty, friends and love. It’s about surrendering and letting go. It’s about finding joy and vibrant brightness in unexpected places. And it’s about hurting. Good lord, there is so much hurt. 😥 This story contains everything I search for in a book that I’ll remember forever, everything perfectly balanced out.

Both Kira and Grayson intrigued me from the very start. They’re both so good inside, but vastly misunderstood by others. They’re fighting with themselves, fighting to be enough, fighting to stay on the surface and not drown. With very few options left, Kira suggests a very unusual business arrangement that will help them both, but when Kira’s vibrant personality cracks the walls around Grayson’s guarded heart, his instinct to build his walls even higher spikes. Will Kira’s light be bright enough to reach him, then?

There were so many sides to Grayson’s Vow. There were times I laughed so hard my tummy hurt and times when I wanted to burst out in tears and times when I wanted to hug them and times I wanted to shake them but in the end I couldn’t even be mad at them because I got both of their reactions so well. Their way of thinking is so familiar to me. I understood their reactions perfectly because I act the same way and I think that was one of the many powers that made this book a new top-favourite for me.

 

“We should discuss–”
“The fact that you’re the offspring of a fire-breathing lizard? I already figured that out.”
– Mia Sheridan, Grayson’s Vow

 

The fire building up between Kira and Grayson was so much fun to watch by far most of the time. How they come back at each other with witty comments and a sass I can only dream of. These two both know how to spit with fire and neither of them backs down easily. Yet on the other hand, as things got further, it made me a little sad too, because of the reason they felt like they had to act this way. They are both marked by a past that is incredibly hard – or even impossible – to let go off. And with their wills and undeniable attraction clashing, will they bring out the worst in each other or the best?

 

“She was like a little fire in my blood – beautiful, unpredictable, and full of life.”
– Mia Sheridan, Grayson’s Vow

 

Kira. My god, Kira. I love that girl! She is the most kind-hearted, selfless, beautiful, sweet, considerate and forgiving woman I’ve ever read about. Every single little thing about her personality is magnificently beautiful. I grew to love and respect this woman so much I’m almost a little dejected I don’t like girls that way. I’ve never loved the female character of a book as much as her. Mia Sheridan has a way of doing that to me in general, but this was definitely the most successful one. Her perception of life, the way she decides to live hers, pretty much everyone could learn from that. (yes, that includes me. 😉 ) She is everything I wish I was. I want to learn to see things her way. She’s amazing. I don’t know how else to describe it. She’s just amazing.

 

I wanted him with an aching desperation that scared me witless and excited me senseless.
– Mia Sheridan, Grayson’s Vow

 

Now, don’t think that I’ve forgotten about Grayson. I haven’t, trust me 😉 And I don’t think I will for a while either. He’s a beautiful man, inside and out, yet the past made him hide it. It made him not want to feel and guard his walls and just exist. And it’s heartbreaking to see, because he’s just as good inside as Kira. It’s like his whole life is made out of down’s and hurt and denial and he’s still standing, he’s still fighting. That shows just how strong and determined he is. Being inside his head made me fall as hard as I wanted to hug him. And somehow telepathically tell Kira to do the same. Yet stubbornness, insecurities and perceptions made by your past have a way of screwing with your head. (I can assure you the truth in those words.) And these two drove me near the edge of madness with their stubbornness. Yet, not in the bad way. Mostly 😉

What I found very interesting to experience was how the view on the world (and especially on other people) of someone based on their assumptions made by the experience of their life can change the way the reader sees the same character completely different just by reading from another perspective. It’s crazy how easily manipulative my opinion became just because I was reading from someone who looks at that other person from a different angle. I was like, ‘Wait, I just really liked him/her three pages ago. Why do I feel negatively towards the same person now?’ It shows exactly what power perceptions and perspective have.

“And by the way, my dear, forget the prince and the princess. I always imagined the real story was between the witch and the dragon.”
– Mia Sheridan, Grayson’s Vow

 

I have to give a shout-out to the side characters in this book. Seriously, consider me with my hands close to my mouth, shouting with a smile on my face. They were a big, big part of the true beauty of Grayson’s Vow. It would not have had the same impact without them. They were vital not only for the all-around theme, but also the fun I had reading this and the way this story played out. I loved, loved, loved Charlotte and Walter. I loved Harley. They helped making this book the magnificent piece of art it is and I wouldn’t have wanted to miss them for the world.

 

“Love means exposing yourself – all of yourself, every tender part – to being hurt. Because true love is not only the flower, true love is also the thorns.”
– Mia Sheridan, Grayson’s Vow

 

I’m guessing you could see this one coming, but all I have is praise for Grayson’s Vow. The characters, the writing style, the themes, the surroundings. Everything fit perfectly and all I want to say is please read this book! There’s a beautiful meaning inside (more than one) and this story will leave your emotions raw and vulnerable. It will leave you weak in the knees and heartbroken, but it’s all worth it. It really is.

* I used the cover from Goodreads.
