Tags

, , , , ,

Hearts In Darkness by Laura Kaye

5 stars LauraKayeHeartsInDarkness

Synopsis

Two strangers…

Makenna James thinks her day can’t get any worse, until she finds herself stranded in a pitch-black elevator with a complete stranger. Distracted by a phone call, the pin-striped accountant catches only a glimpse of a dragon tattoo on his hand before the lights go out.

Four hours…

Caden Grayson is amused when a harried redhead dashes into his elevator fumbling her bags and cell phone. His amusement turns to panic when the power fails. Despite his piercings, tats, and vicious scar, he’s terrified of the dark and confined spaces. Now, he’s trapped in his own worst nightmare.

One pitch-black elevator…

To fight fear, they must reach out and open up. With no preconceived notions based on looks to hold them back, they discover just how much they have in common. In the warming darkness, attraction grows and sparks fly, but will they feel the same when the lights come back on? 

 

My thoughts

Oh my god, I loved this novella!! When I read the blurb, I was intrigued by the idea of two strangers being stuck in an elevator, having no choice but to keep each other company in the pitch blackness, with no contact to the outside world and no idea who the other person was, and the only thing there is to do is talk.

So I settled in my comfortable bed with my ereader, sunk into my pillows and dived into the bustling life of Makenna, who is so not having her day. Everything that can go wrong, goes wrong and to top things off, she gets stuck inside an elevator with a complete stranger. In the dark. For four hours. With a man that all she knows about is the tattoo on his hand she saw as he held the door open for her.

Caden Grayson drew me in from the very start. The chivalry, the insecurity, the tenderness, the clear trauma he’s struggling with, the tattoos and piercings, the deep chuckle that makes your heart race. On the outside he looks like a badboy, but on the inside he’s the exact opposite. This man has a heart of gold, despite being broken. The clumsiness with his words at times only makes him that more alluring and had me smiling and melting into a puddle. He is exactly the kind of guy I fall head over heels for in books. Dark, broken, but a beautiful soul. Caden really spoke to my heart. His insecurities were very recognisable and the trauma he went through broke my heart. I just wanted to wrap my arms around him and hug the guy. Big time.

Then again, god bless Makenna, because she felt the same way. She’s kind, considerate, compassionate, modest and vibrant. She is exactly the kind of person Caden needed inside that elevator and I loved her to bits for it.

Yet what happens when the lights go on? Will the freedom in opening up that the darkness provided evaporate back into the now disappeared shadows or does their unusual meeting prove to be the best start for something more?

Hearts In Darkness is short, but I loved every single page. I loved how, without their sight, Makenna and Caden were forced to get to know each other by words alone. To me, it takes us back to what life is all about. To the true essence of getting to know someone, not biased on someone’s looks. It’s an emotional and moving story. It’s intimate and beautiful. It’s also very hot and sexy. This novella is amazingly written and that makes it that more intense. It is definitely what I hoped it would be and more. Laura Kaye knows how to tell a story, alright.

Hearts In Darkness is a unique story and I honestly can’t wait to dive into the sequel. I’m so excited and curious about how this is going to continue, I’m gonna start right now! Caden, here I come!!

See you in a bit! 😉

 

* I used the cover from Goodreads
