Tags

, , ,

Smart, Sexy and Secretive by Tammy Falkner

4.5 stars

Couple romancing together

Synopsis

Emily

I’m back in New York, ready to start my brand new life with Logan. Things are still up in the air between us, and it has been three months since I’ve even talked to him. But there’s one thing I’m certain of — I can’t live without him.

Logan

I need her like I need air. But now she’s back, and her dad and her ex-boyfriend are conspiring to keep us apart. We can do this, though. Can’t we? We can make this work? We have to, because I can’t imagine my life without her.

 

My thoughts

Oh, I love these brothers! I totally fell for them in Tall, Tatted and Tempting and by now I just really, really, really want my own family of big, badass and beautifully adorable brothers! Can I adopt them, pretty please? (A)

Smart, Sexy and Secretive is the second book in the Reed Brother’s series, so if you haven’t read TTT, BE GONE because I’ll spoil it and you don’t want that. You really don’t 😉 If you have, I love having you around! Welcome, welcome, welcome! 😀

So. The title definitely lives up the story here, because wow, this was sexy! Way sexier than the sexy version of Tall, Tatted and Tempting, though also not over the top. Perfectly balanced for a New Adult novel, I’d say. We get to know a little more about Emily’s family and I totally love her mom. It’s clear where Emily inherited her heart of gold from. Because what a huge heart she has! I love how Emily doesn’t feel better than anyone else just because she comes from a rich family. I love that she never made a deal out of living the life of the poorest just so she could ensure her own freedom. She respected herself and stood up for herself and I can only praise the girl for that. The last thing that woman is, is conceited and I love her to dibs for it. Especially with what she’s been told by her father as she grew up.

Now, her father is another story. What a nerve that man has! And Trip is the worst asshole of all! I wanted to smash his face in myself so many times. The only thing that held me back was the fact that my ereader wouldn’t have been very happy with me, and if my reader isn’t happy, I’m not happy. So yeah.

Emily and Logan both know that what they feel for each other is no ordinary fling. They just want to continue where they left off, but what happens when you’re the last person your girlfriend’s wealthy businessman of a father had in mind for his daughter? And he’s way fonder of her ex-boyfriend, instead? How do you compete?

Logan is too cute for words. And I mean cute in the best way possible here. (I know guys don’t want to be called cute, but suck it up. It’s positive. 😉 ) He’s so in love with Emily, so protective and loyal and caring and good. But don’t underestimate him. He’s still tatted and tall and he won’t think twice about hitting some serious sense into you when you need it. He fights for what he loves until the very end, yet he’s also respectful about it. Up until a certain point, anyway. 😉

Smart, Sexy and Secretive did everything but disappoint me. It’s quite short for what I normally read, but it is not rushed at all and the shortness of it makes me breeze through the series with the most comfortable speed ever for being a slow reader. (Normally I can’t remember the details of the previous book because I take forever to get to the end) It was a perfectly funny and moving sequel that has me aching to find out more about Logan’s brothers, because Pete definitely has spiked my interest! And, I heard that there’s a 3.6 book in this series that has Emily’s name in the title! Now, you know what I’m gonna do; jump straight into Calmly, Carefully and Completely and after I finish, find out more about Logan and Emily! 😀

WOOP WOOP!

