Tags

, ,

Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras

4.5 stars ClaireContrerasKaleidoscopeHearts

Synopsis

He was my older brother’s best friend.
He was never supposed to be mine.
I thought we would get it out of our system and move on.

One of us did.
One of us left.

Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me.
He broke my heart last time.
This time he’ll obliterate it.

*This is a standalone*

 

My thoughts

Kaleidoscope Hearts is a second chance romance that will leave you wondering which way it will go till nearly the end. It’s a passionate love. It’s a forbidden love. It might just be an impossible love…

Estelle knows Oliver Hart is bad for her health and stuffed their past away in a far corner of her mind behind three stainless steel locked doors. And she succeeds just fine, until he stands right in front of her again and Estelle needs to find the strength to keep her heart intact this time.

To be really honest, it took me while to warm up to these two. And I really don’t like even admitting that because it feels like I’m betraying them. But once I did… OH-MY-OHMY keep the mop close because I was in a puddle in no time! All by the hands of Oliver Hart.

The transition Oliver goes through is unbelievably heart-melting. He goes from forever bachelor to holy-mother-I-need-a-fan, quick!! Once that softer, more sensitive side of him peeks around the corner, I was totally done for and from that moment on that man gets better every sentence! WAAH! He gets you pretty hot and bothered in no time and makes you go to complete goo the next second. Andandand… Pay attention, people! Long hair. Blond hair long enough for a man bun. Oh yes! Tall. Athletic body. Surfer’s attitude. Bright green eyes. Dimpled smiles. Heavy rock music. (and hip hop, but I’ll just ignore that for now. Sorry, not sorry. 😛 )

What on earth could you want more than that?

Not much, people. Not much. And combine that with your favourite flavour of ice cream softness, goodness and sweetness of a personality and you can bet I’m on the floor waving a white flag. I surrender, Oliver. I do!!

And I totally love the name too. Like, LOVE his name.

Estelle was a different story. To me, it’s important that when I read a book I connect with the main character. During Kaleidoscope Hearts, it took me a long time before I connected with Estelle. And that’s a shame, because she is a nice and sweet person who’s been through major grief several times in her life and she fought hard to survive. Yet still, I had a hard time figuring out what her thoughts were on things when I was inside her head, and that’s quite a strange thing. She kept being vague even inside her own head, like she didn’t even know what she thought or felt herself. One moment she went left, the other right and I felt like I was running after her from one side to the other, always behind and unsure what was going on. It wasn’t until we were nearing the end that I got a clearer picture of her view and thoughts. The past made Estelle insecure. Yet it’s her reaction to those insecurities that tend to be a little dramatic at times and it’s such a shame, because that made her a tiny bit annoying when she is a really great woman. I get that she’s insecure, believe me I do, but jeez woman, you’re 25! Start acting like it. So yeah, that was a bit sad, but I can assure you that Oliver totally made up for the slight frustrations I had towards Estelle at times. Because holy shit I fell head over heels for that man!!

Yes, he made mistakes in the past. Yes, he probably should have made different decisions, but that man nearly crawled on his knees for that woman alright. He regretted forcefully and got burned, but he learned from the past and he is ready to put every ounce of fight, courage and soul he has into it and that was a beautiful thing to witness.

What I don’t want, is for whoever is reading this to think I didn’t love this book, because I do. The plot is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking and you can’t help but fall hard for Oliver. I’m scared that my review might feel more negative than I want it to, so I really want to make clear that I do love this story. That I didn’t connect with Estelle doesn’t mean you won’t either and other than that this was definitely an enjoyable read. So, yes, Kaleidoscope Hearts is definitely a book I would recommend. And I kind of want to claim Oliver Hart. Like seriously.

And the cover? SO beautiful!! 😍

