Tags

, , , ,

The Best Goodbye by Abbi Glines

5.5 stars AbbiGlinesTheBestGoodbye

Synopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the next sizzling novel in the Rosemary Beach series, featuring well-known playboy and Blaire’s half brother, Captain.

 

‘The look on Rose’s face had screamed that she was hiding something. Hell, she’d practically run away from me. There was something to that. I knew there was…’

 

After ten years in the employ of a mysterious crime boss, River “Captain” Kipling is ready to leave his sordid past—and his cover occupation as an upscale restaurateur—behind him. The only thing standing in the way of his “retirement” is his commitment to launch a new restaurant in the resort town of Rosemary Beach. With his sister, Blaire, nearby, Captain can delay his dream of running a humble bar on the waterfront, but the unwanted attentions of his head server, Elle, have him itching to get out.

 

Until he notices Rose Henderson, the new server at the restaurant. All he knows about the pretty redhead with the cute glasses is that she’s a hardworking single mom from Oklahoma. But there’s something overly familiar about her laugh…something strange about the way she looks at Captain…

 

 

My thoughts

The Best Goodbye has the most mysterious atmosphere in this series yet. As we dive into the secretive world of Rose and Captain, you’ll find passion, friendship and unconditional love hidden just beneath the surface of the dark, dark waters of Rosemary Beach that could so easily make you drown in heartache.

On a side note, this is the 13th book in this series, so keep that in mind when you continue to read this review. You won’t find spoilers on the other books here, but you will find them in the book itself and it would be such a shame to spoil a series like this.

We had the pleasure of meeting River Captain Kipling for the first time all the way back in Forever Too Far, where he immediately caught my attention (like ahum-yum! :3) He was definitely someone I wanted to know more about, much more, and in When You’re Back, we were lucky enough to get to know him a little better. Oh how I started falling for him back then already. But when the news hit that he was getting a chance to tell his own story, I fangirled like crazy. Like seriously. My heart went through the roof with excitement, especially after his appearance in When You’re Back.

 

‘She was perfect and mine to protect. Even from me.’

– Captain, The Best Goodbye

 

And my god did I love it! This was exactly what I hoped his book would be like! Captain is dark and broken by a past that made him turn to desperate measures to survive, making him a completely different person than he used to be. In the deepest chambers of his heart, he’s lost his heart long ago to someone who can’t give it back. Will the one piece of his soul that still remains be enough to save him from going under?

Rose is a survivor. She’s a strong, independent woman who made a life for herself and the one person she would do absolutely anything in the world for; her child. Yet the past has a funny way of coming back haunting you, especially when the person you live for is starting to ask questions. Rose is willing to give her baby everything, but till what cost?

 

‘Because when River Joshua Kipling decided you were worth protecting,

he did it with everything he had.’ – Addy, The Best Goodbye

 

It’s safe to say that The Best Goodbye is one of my favorite books in this series. Captain and Rose touched a part of me with their story that had my heart exploding with emotions, my pulse racing with excitement and my soul breaking to pieces in heartache. I fell hard and fast for Captain, despite his cold demeanor at first, because there is so much more to him than what he shows. We’ve seen a bit of that in When You’re Back, and trust me if I say that was only a tiny-piny glimpse of all the hidden beauty disguised in the dangerous yet undeniably alluring darkness that is River Captain Kipling.

I have to admit that the intimate scenes in The Best Goodbye are not as large in numbers as in earlier books in this series and I truly loved that because it totally fitted this story. And the scenes that did occur where scorching hot enough that you won’t be missing any action at all. 😉 I’m sure if you looked Captains third name it would be Hot. Don’t get me wrong, though, we definitely get to see fire-up-your-veins action, it’s just not on every other page. J

This book made my heart race as much as it made me melt. Rose’s kid is such an awesome addition to this book that I fell so hard for. You can’t help but be captivated. Rose’s mother instincts were beautiful and she did an amazing job of raising her little one on her own. That alone made me respect her as a person so much already and then I’m not even talking about the way she dealt with everything that’s been thrown at her in her life. She can be insecure at times, but that is completely understandable in her situation.

Really, all I can say about The Best Goodbye is read it. Just read it. It’s beautiful and hot and sweet and heartbreaking and it’s different from the other books in this series and that made me love it even more. I loved the suspense, I loved the plot, I loved-loved-LOVED the characters. I loved everything. I’ve never read a series this long and yet I don’t think I can ever get enough. I want to swim in the epic waters of Rosemary Beach forever.

 

 

***************WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD********

 

Oh my god, I love River! :3 He’s like the ultimate protector. I loved every single second of being inside River’s head. Captain was a whole other person, and it broke my heart to see him so haunted by what happened ten years ago. Yet as I got to know him better, I saw he’d still held on the most important piece of his heart. And once the pieces started falling into place, River and Captain became closer and closer until they became one and the same person again and I’m pretty sure my heart exploded with happiness somewhere along the way.

And Franny. She’s amazing. I love that little girl! She made this book so much more vibrant with her brightness and her innocence and random information. Abbi did an amazing job describing a girl that age. She made me smile so often. I’m not much of a ‘I really want kids when I’m older’-person at all, but Abbi’s kids in this series make me go weak every single time. And speaking off kids, we get very interesting information in The Best Goodbye regarding a past couple!!

River and Addy. God. I love them. The scenes in the past were just as SWOON as they were WHAT THE FUCK WOMAN. There are some seriously fucked up persons on this planet. What warmed my heart from the start was River’s response. I was such a puddle on the floor over and over. And both of them so deserved this. So much! This was exactly the story I hoped for Captain’s story to be like. I can’t thank Abbi enough for that.

