Tags

, , ,

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

5.5/6 starsColleenHooverNovember9

Synopsis

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

 

My thoughts

From the second I read this blurb a looong time before the book was released, I. Was. Hooked. The concept of November 9 was something that lured me in immediately and from that moment on, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. To say I was intrigued is an understatement. And holy-wow did Colleen deliver. This book.

Made.

Me.

Feel.

Everything.

Name any emotion that is known to human kind and you feel it while reading her books. That’s a power very few authors have. November 9 is no different.

I’ve never read a book wherein I’m so busy with every aspect of writing. Normally it’s a part of a book indirectly, but here you’re very actively busy with the how’s, do’s and dont’s of writing – especially in the beginning – and being an amateur hobby writer myself it’s one of the most interesting books to read, when at the same time you’re a part of two wonderful characters trying to find themselves in the chaotic-ness that is life. It’s a combination I’ve never seen before and it intrigued me in the most engulfing way possible. I also love how much book-talk is going on here, all these typical words you find in reviews and book discussions being called around. What’s better than reading a book that’s about someone who is writing a book? It’s addicting as hell, that’s what it is. It’s fun and Ben feels like this wonderful, wonderful guy who just stepped right out of a romance novel but he’s actually in a romance novel, yet at the same time he’s also writing a romance novel. You see how dazzlingly confusing this is? I LOVE IT.

 

“If we’re going to kiss, it has to be book-worthy.”

― Colleen Hoover, November 9

I don’t know how she does it, but Colleen has this magical power with words. She has the ability to make someone do something that could be called cheesy, but the thoughts behind the movements or words are so creative they’re not cheesy at all. Result; you get the most exhilarating, sweet, emotional-rollercoaster love stories and no one is gonna even think of it as cheesy because it’s just that ingenious. Everything just fits. And it goes hand in hand with the creativity of Colleens mind. It jumps out not only in the general storyline and background of the characters, it’s in nearly every sentence. Every move, every conversation. It makes me want to open the book and keep reading just to find out what kind of awesome response or twist she’s going to come up with now.  And that’s just about the words. I haven’t even started about the story and characters themselves yet. Those are a masterpiece each of its own. Outspoken personalities that have the ability to make you smile, melt, make the temperature rise high in the room, make your heart race harder than is probably healthy, and tear it to million pieces in a way that makes you think you’ll never be able to recover it until she sews it back together in an even better shape than before. That’s what happens to you when you read books by Colleen Hoover. And sue me for being addicted to every single nano-second of it.

And then there’s Fallon and Ben. The transition these two went through, to see them grow and change and mature over time while the best parts of them never waver, is just so friggin’ beautiful. Fallon is a woman I look up to. I have so much respect for the way she lived her life and the choices she made. Fallon is a strong young woman who evolves from being in the aftermath of a tragic event that changed her life, to a confident woman who stands tall for the life she’s chosen for herself. She loved and regretted and bloomed and forgave and made mistakes and learned and asked for forgiveness and fought and hurt and lived.

And Ben. Oh Ben! :3 You reminded me of Holder in some ways and you might not know this yet, but the people around here know Holder is still my top 1 bookboyfriend ever(together with Lucas Maxfield, I just cannot choose between these two) for 3 years now. That says something. It really does, Ben. Oh, he is everything I would ever search for in a guy and more. He’s just… Ben. I fell for him so fast and hard it is just insane. There were many times he made me laugh so hard I had tears in my eyes and times were he made me want to crawl into a corner and cry and times were I kind of seriously wanted to punch him and times where he made me swoon so hard and times were I wanted to dive into these pages and just hug the guy. Hard. He has a little of everything, he’s perfectly imperfect and that makes him so real and it is impossible not to fall for him.

 

“I missed you, Fallon,” he says. “A lot. And screw it if I’m not supposed to admit that, but I tried the whole alpha-male thing for two seconds and I just can’t do it. So you don’t get alpha-Ben today. I’m sorry.”

– Colleen Hoover, November 9

 

The thing with the guys Colleen creates in her books, is that they give me hope. Her books helped me so much when it comes to regaining trust in the male population of this world. I can hear you say, ‘but it’s fiction. It’s not real.’ But, but, but, but Colleen said that all of her male characters are based on her husband. Now if that doesn’t make them real, I don’t know what would. Her guys made me realize that there are truly good men out there, they’re just rare, and it helped me opening up to guys more. Not that I’m all ‘hey you sexy!’ now (HA! Far from it), but I opened up more to them than before. I just to want to hide away when a random guy even just grazed his eyes over me when he passed me on the street. Let’s not get me started on talking to guys… That’s not all, though. Her books gave me more experience than life has until now. She taught me so much lessons in life and keeps doing it, every time again.

 

“She’s not the kind of girl you choose your battles for. She’s the kind of girl you fight to the death for.”

― Colleen Hoover, November 9

 

It’s unbelievable how every time, it’s like Colleen crawls inside my head and catches snippets of my thoughts and puts them on paper. Seriously, it’s almost scary. Get out of my head Colleen. No, never mind, it’s one of many things that fascinate me about her books. It’s what makes them relatable and real. So you can keep poking inside my brain, Colleen. I’ll happily invite you in 😛

I swear, though, Colleens books are like chocolate. Once the thought of it enters your mind, you’ll crave for it for hours and hours until you get your hands on it. And once you finally get the piece you’ve been longing for, you want more and more and more until you devoured the whole thing and even though your tummy is happily grumbling with fullness, you would still eat another piece because it’s just too good to resist.
Because you can never.
Eat.
Too much.
Chocolate.
(Don’t tell me I’m alone in this, I call bullshit) It’s delicious, SO good, addicting, fulfilling, gives you the feeling of true happiness and content. It’s everything and I don’t think I can ever have enough. Just writing this review makes me want to pick up the book and read it again.

 

“A body is simply a package for the true gifts inside. And you are full of gifts. Selflessness, kindness, compassion. All the things that matter.” 

– Colleen Hoover, November 9

 

To be honest, I can finish a book that I truly love, yet find myself having a hard time writing a review it deserves. It’s frustrating because I loved the book and I want to do it the justice it deserves but I feel like I can’t because I can’t seem to find the right words to explain. I don’t seem to have that problem with November 9. I don’t know what it is, but I found myself writing down thoughts of this book when I was only 10 pages in. My mind was almost constantly on these characters during the day and I found myself unable stop writing everything down that popped up in my head. It’s like this book caused this constant flow of thoughts and words and I was left to get it all written down as fast as possible. I already had a ton of words for my review when I wasn’t even halfway into the book.

That might make that this review goes from one side to the other, and I’m trying to keep it contained a bit, but I’m not sure I’m succeeding. There were just so many thoughts invading my head as I read this book that it’s hard to turn it into a logical story. At the same time, though, that is kind of exactly what happens to you when you’re reading November 9, because when the heartache comes, it’s bad. So be prepared. Okay, never mind. There’s no way you can prepare yourself for this. Just let it come over you as it comes. 😛 (God, I’m such a horrible person xD )

 

“Whoever said the truth hurts was being an optimist. The truth is an excruciatingly painful son of a bitch.”

― Colleen Hoover, November 9

 

Like I said, I always right down my thoughts as I’m reading, because I love reading back how my view evolves throughout the book. It’s the most genuine thoughts and feelings I can express, when I’m right in the middle of it. The following parts are examples of that, just to give an idea.

OH MY GOD!!
She did it! She totally did it! She made a connection to one of her other books and it’s tiny and I LOVE IT-LOVE IT-LOVE IT! I don’t give a single crap how tiny it is, but she actually connected to of her books!!

*

Tonight, I hate you Colleen.
That was it.
Sorry.
I think.
I’m gonna curl up in a corner now.

*

I don’t know what just happened. I don’t know what to think. I don’t know. I… what the hell just happened? I’m lost.

*

I swear this book!! It’s driving me insane right now because I’m at ‘That part’ and JFAIDNDAJDAKDMGJASKDFNAAVJKADRNJA That’s about what I feel like right now. I didn’t cry yet but it’s just so fucking sad right now and I can’t handle much more. I NEED TO FINISH BECAUSE I NEED TO KNOW HOW IT ENDS. You’re totally ready for this because holy mothershit I love love LOVE this book – until ‘that part’ arrived anyway – and just wow Colleen is brilliant when she’s not tearing my heart out. I so love the concept of this book!!! READ IT. I swear. I can’t be in this misery alone anymore. – a message I send to my book-buddy.

*

I swear, I’ve thought it would be alright so many times now and Colleen is tossing my heart around like a dog plays with a toy he wants to destroy. And I thought it was bad then but it kind of seriously pales to what I just read last night and I swear to god I’m so fucking sad right now. I want to crawl into the book and hug both of them. – another message I send to my book-buddy.

*

WHAAAA I’m so in a puddle on the floor right now! This is just so, so heart-warming and absolutely perfect. I love you, Bennie-boy!! :3 You too, Colleen. Forget what I said earlier!

 

So there’s that.
To be really honest, I don’t think my vocabulary is expanded enough to fully express my gratitude, respect and love I have for Colleen Hoover, but I hope this was a good attempt. I think it’s safe to say that you can guess whether or not I recommend this book by now, but to be sure everyone understands; YES, YES, YES, I recommend November 9. Colleen is a fantastic author who writes the most magnificent and original love stories and she’s just as amazing as a person.

So thank you Colleen, for letting us be a part of your wonderful mind.

 

 

 

SPOILERS, NOT HUGE ONES BUT DEFINITELY SPOILERS. SO BE WARNED.

 

 

“So whether or not you can find it in your heart to love me again, I needed to thank you for saving me. And if there is any part of you capable of forgiving me, you know where I’ll be. Tonight, next year, the next, for eternity. The choice is yours.”

― Colleen Hoover, November 9

This quote. Oh. My. God. I think my heart exploded.

I could go on for hours and hours on how much I love this book and how blown away I was by the twists and how everything played out, but no matter how many scenarios I come up with in my head that could happen as I’m reading books by Colleen Hoover, she always surprizes me. Always. I love that. Truly love that. And I fell so hard for Ben I want my own Benton James Kessler. It’s almost Christmas, right? Maybe if I’ve been really good this year??

