Tags

, , , ,

Beautiful Sacrifice by Jamie McGuire

5 stars 

JamieMcGuireBeautifulSacrifice

                *

Synopsis

Falyn Fairchild can walk away from anything. Having already left her car, her education, and even her parents, the daughter of the next governor of Colorado is back in her hometown, broke and waiting tables for the Bucksaw Café. After every shift, Falyn adds to her shoebox of cash, hoping to one day save enough to buy her a plane ticket to the only place she can find forgiveness: Eakins, Illinois.

The moment Taylor Maddox is seated in Falyn’s section at the Bucksaw, she knows he’s trouble. Taylor is charming, breaks promises, and gorgeous even when covered in filth—making him everything Falyn believes a hotshot firefighter to be. Falyn isn’t interested in becoming another statistic, and for a Maddox boy, a disinterested girl is the ultimate challenge.

Once Falyn learns where Taylor calls home, everything changes. In the end, Maddox persistence is met with Falyn’s talent for leaving, and for the first time, Taylor may be the one to get burned.

My thoughts

Beautiful Sacrifice is a story about a young, independent, strong woman struggling and working hard to finally find closure on her past, and a man who’s latest challenge might just get him burned worse than he ever expected. This is a story about choices and regret, love and sacrifices, pain that cuts at your heart and finding your home.

Falyn has kept men on a distance with her straight-to-the-point honesty that tends to immediate rejection for years, so when covered-in-root, sexy-as-hell Taylor shows up, she’s not all that impressed. Yes, he’s gorgeous, even when he’s filthy, but he’s not the only one there. What she doesn’t know is that once a Maddox set his sights on a challenge, he’ll fight with all he has until he has it.

Going crazy with his persistence, Falyn does everything to push him away, until she find out Taylor can give her access to the one thing she’s been working for all these years. And she’s willing to grab that chance with both hands no matter the consequences…

Oh, how I love these brothers! This is already the third book in the Maddox Brother’s series – it’s going so fast! :O – and one of the many things I love about this series is that the stories are all intertwined somehow. We get peeks of Travis, Trent, Thomas and even Tyler and it makes me feel giddy to see them from a different standpoint. I will never get enough of this family.

Which leads me to the following; if you haven’t read the books before this one and you’re planning to, pretty-pretty please stop reading this review and start at the beginning of the series. I think it is the best to read these books as a series because I would love for everyone to fully experience this series and devour all of the amazing brother’s in the Maddox family, so really, it’s in your best interest. 🙂 I’m not sure if the author claims these books each as standalones or as a series to be honest. Personally, though, I’m really glad I read them in the order they were released.

Now, Taylor… well, he’s definitely true to the Maddox genes. Sexy as hell, tattooed by his artistic brother, cocky like a true Maddox and stubborn also like a true Maddox. Dimpled smiles that make you want to melt in a puddle, badass humour with a vibrating laugh and gentle warm eyes that will make you fall before you  know it.

‘I looked at Taylor. He was a little too sweet, somewhat courteous,
and even thoughtful at times, all safely hidden away behind his smart mouth
and his though tattooed exterior.’

Could it get any better, you wonder? Yes! Yes, it can, when rock music started blaring through his car speakers, that’s about the second I was done. You got me there, Taylor. You so got me. Oh, how much I would do to be held in those tattooed arms of his… Or just generally be in his presence, really.

Falyn… I loved her. She’s modest yet stands her ground. She’s caring, selfless, but won’t let people screw with her or she’s done. Falyn’s story really spoke to me, the choices she had to make, the way she dealt with the cards she got handed… That woman has my true respect.

Altogether, yes, Beautiful Sacrifice is definitely a book I would recommend. Jamie is so skilled in writing engaging, deeply emotional stories and make you laugh at the same time. Because I did, often. I LOVED both Falyn and Taylor’s sassy responses and had to hold back a burst of laughter many times when I read as my fellow home-inhabitants were already asleep. This is a book you just want to dive into and enjoy to the fullest.

And, and, and… Tyler! We got a peek of the characters from Beautiful Burn(coming January 2016 already!) during Beautiful Sacrifice and I can’t help but be seriously curious about them now! Honestly, I can’t wait to find out what adventure awaits us in Beautiful Burn!

* I used the cover from Goodreads

