Tags

, , ,

When You’re Back by Abbi Glines

5 stars AbbiGlinesWhenYoureBack

Synopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the next new adult novel in her beloved Rosemary Beach series, which continues the story of Mase and Reese from When I’m Gone.

The future is bright for Reese Ellis. She has Mase Colt-Manning, the man of her dreams, and a family she didn’t know existed until her long-lost father arrived on her doorstep in Rosemary Beach. After growing up with a cruel mother and abusive stepfather, Reese is eager to get to know the caring and charming man who wants to be a part of her life. Everything is finally falling into place.

While Reese is visiting her new family in Chicago, Mase spends time with his “cousin,” Aida, who has worshipped him since childhood. Though they’re unrelated by blood, Mase and Aida have been raised to think of each other as family. But when Reese returns, she can tell something isn’t quite right with Aida, who clearly resents Reese and excels at manipulative little games. And though Mase is unsuspecting, Reese knows Aida doesn’t love him like a cousin should…

 

My thoughts

When You’re Back continues the exciting, steamy story of traumatized, kind Reece and saving cowboy/son-of-a-rockstar Mase. Attention: this is the second book starring Reece and Mase, so read When I’m Gone before this one, please. If you haven’t, stop reading here. I’m only trying to help J Okay, we continue.

That Mase and Reece love each other is as clear as day, but sometimes others want to put a claim anyway. A childhood friend of Mase causes tension when Reece returns from visiting the biological father that found her after years of absence and they have to share Mase’ attention. To Mase, Aida is just a friend, but she might think very differently…

And then there’s an old friend from a previous Rosemary Beach book popping up everywhere, voicing Reece’s deepest fears and making her question everything while confusing her with his behavior. She might be clear to him, but will Mase be pleased when he finds out Reece spends time with a near stranger?

When You’re Back is a sweet, steamy love story about a woman trying to find her place in the world and a man with a heart of gold and a will to fight off the battles of all history for the ones he loves.

The independence that comes with being able to read and write let Reece bloom. A new life, a passionate love,  a new found family. I love how it looks on her. She’s a beautiful woman with a determination a lot of people can learn from as she creates a life for herself after leaving the heartache behind with her sexy cowboy.

Mase Colt Manning oozes steamy hotness, dangerous cowboy and strong safe arms. A heart as big as the world with a touch of rockstar running through his blood is quite a perfect combination. The long hair and boots completes the oh-so-warm-fuzz-in-your-tummy feeling. He has everything I search for in  man and more. So much more.

I enjoyed When You’re Back even more than When I’m Gone. Reece and Mase are hard not to love. Their cute way of interacting, the protectiveness, the HOT love makig scenes, the cowboy boots… You want me to continue? There isn’t a single book in this series that I wouldn’t recommend, and this is no exception. I just love, love, LOVE the Rosemary Beach series. There’s a darkness to this book that wasn’t in any of the others, but oh-my I loved it! I need more!! And I have a feeling we’ll see more in the next installment that comes out this year!! And soon! October!

You can wipe me off of the floor for sure!!

*********WARNING SPOILERS********

Oh how I love these two. They’re very cute in this sexy way that is addicting to read. Mase has always been his little sister’s  protector and he feels the same about Reece. That was already the case in When I’m Gone, but it’s even more clear now. And I love that. It is so incredibly attracting! GAH.

And Captain returning! Oh, the second I learned about Captain in Forever Too Far, I wanted to know more about him. And I did. Ohh and now I want to know even more.  And his book is coming soon! I can’t wait for this! Honestly!!

He got me worried for a while though. I find him fascinating but when he tried to flirt with Reece and make her doubt Mase, I couldn’t help but think, ‘Don’t Captain, you’re way too interesting to ruin their relationship.’ But he didn’t.  And I get it now – seriously though that one chapter!! Is there a eye-bulging emoticon out here? SO BADASS. I LOVED IT!! I NEED MORE. GIVE ME MORE OF CAPTAIN PLEASE.

What I found very interesting was that he had quite a big part in this story. I hadn’t expected that at all, but it fitted so well and I loved everything about it.

What I also loved was how assumed worries  that normally create a distance between two characters near the end was dissolved within minutes to hours in When You’re Back. I can always get so frustrated that a simple assumption causes two madly in love characters to separate and be in agony while when timing would have just been different or they’d given the other the opportunity to explain, it would have never happened. And they never got the chance to do that here. They were clear in what they felt towards each other, didn’t make any reckless mistakes just because they were angry and knew each other so well that there was never a chance of being misunderstood. I just can’t say enough how much I appreciated that. It was refreshing.

