Tags

, , ,

Something Beautiful by Jamie McGuire

4.5 stars 

JamieMcGuireSomethingBeautifulSynopsis

 

America Mason, a sassy undergrad at Eastern State University, is in love with a Maddox-Shepley Maddox. Unlike his cousins, Shepley is more lover than fighter, but a road trip to her parent’s home in Wichita, Kansas could mean the next step, or the end of everything.

 

My thoughts

This is a cute, quick read that gives us a peek inside the lives of America and Shepley, the adorable couple we first met in Beautiful Disaster.

Which leads me to this before I say anything more. If you haven’t read Beautiful Disaster or any of the Maddox Brothers’ books yet and you intend to, I would strongly advice waiting with this novella until you read the rest. It’s not even that there are huge spoilers about their stories, but the other couples make an appearance one way or another and you’ll hear the end since this story is set after the others’ are finished so… that’s really not what you want. Honestly. These stories are way too much fun to read separately to spoil them.

That said, back to Something Beautiful.

I loved America and Shepley ever since I started Beautiful Disaster and I hoped for so long that they would get their own story. And now they did! Even though it’s a novella and for that it’s short, I really liked the peek we got inside their heads. It gives us that much more insight into the Maddox family and who could ever resist not wanting to get as much to know about that family than there is?

Even though Shepley isn’t as much of a firecracker as Travis or the other Maddox brothers, he’s still a Maddox. And Maddox’es are both irresistible and stubborn as hell. A funny addiction to Shepley, is that he’s also pretty cute. Where America is confident and independent, Shepley was sold the first moment he saw her. They are adorable together and their story will leave your heart beating fast and wild.

I really enjoyed this story, so yes, I recommend this novella. But, like I said before, do not read this before any of the Beautiful or Maddox Brothers series, because it will spoil the other stories, at least in my opinion.

********WARNING SPOILERS*********

Something I did notice was how  this story was spread over quite a long time. Within the first three chapters, over three years passed. I loved getting to know about how Shepley and America met, and what was running through their head with Abby and Travis wedding,  but it had the wheels of my brain turning a bit at the speed. Then by far the rest of the story had a span of just a day, until the very last chapter. It wasn’t that it was annoying, but it was definitely something that caught my attention.

