Tags

, , ,

Kyland by Mia Sheridan

5.5 stars MiaSheridanKyland

Synopsis
Dirt poor. Hillbilly. Backwoods hick. Mountain folk.

Tenleigh Falyn struggles each day to survive in a  small, poverty-stricken, coal mining town where she lives with her sister and mentally ill mother. Her dream of winning the college scholarship given to one student by the local coal company and escaping the harshness of her life, keeps her going.

Kyland Barrett lives in the hills, too, and has worked tirelessly- through near starvation, through deep loneliness, against all odds- to win the Tyton Coal Scholarship and leave the town that is full of so much pain.

They’re both determined not to form any attachments, but one moment changes everything. What happens when only one person gets to win? When only one person gets to leave? And what happens to the one left behind?

Kyland is a story of desperation and hope, loss and sacrifice, pain and forgiveness, but ultimately, a story of deep and unending love.

My thoughts

The synopsis up here describes this story so perfectly I almost have nothing to add. It states exactly what this story is about without giving anything away at all. That right there is some serious skill synopsis writing. It triggered my interest the second I read it and has been very high on my to-be-read list since. Now I finally came to reading Kyland and my. God.

It was everything I expected it to be and it was something entirely different at the same time. It was more, better and so intense.  It was mind blowingly beautiful and heartbreaking and just holy shit!

Kyland is the story of two strong, yet broken people who were handed an unfairly rough hand in life, doing everything they can to survive in a poverty stricken town up in the mountains.

This is a story of two beautiful, utterly selfless people who were handed a tougher card in life than you can imagine, but didn’t let that hold them back from dreaming or following those dreams. They fight for what they want in the most selfless way.

This is a story of two people who set their sight on their dreams and won’t let anything get in the way to accomplish them.

Or so they thought.

They knew what they could expect from the start, but they hadn’t realized that some things can’t be planned. They hadn’t  anticipated that one moment could change everything they had ever worked for. And yet the consequences were very real.

I can’t tell you how many times my heart broke as I read Kyland, because I lost counting about one fourth into the book. Possibly earlier. My heart ached for Tenleigh and Kyland so bad I could feel it even during the day when I wasn’t reading. All I could think about was how much these two deserved happiness. Yet beside that, I was blown away by their beauty, their selflessness, their kindness and sassiness.

I don’t want to say too much in fear of giving anything away, because this is one of those books you just have fully experience with as less information as possible and let it come over you so you can suck up all the beauty and true meaning of the book, but I’ll do my best.

Tenleigh and Kyland are very different and yet the same. They’re kind hearted, modest and brave. They’re protective over the ones they care about and intelligent. They’re stubborn and determined. Yet were Tenleigh is more open about her feelings, Kyland is distant one moment, open the other and distant again the next second. He has his reasons, and they’re very good ones, but will that save or break him in the end?

I can only praise how this book was written from start to finish. The writing style is amazing, the division between the dialog and narative is perfect. The story line is engaging, with firecracker characters and a deeply emotional story to tell.

In the end, I closed this book with one epic goofy smile on my face and a feeling of true happiness for these characters. What a story. What a beautiful, beautiful people. This is why I love reading books. This, right here.

This was my second book by Mia Sheridan(I was completely blown away by Archer’s Voice in a way that changed me) and all I can express is true respect to her characters. I love them all, so, so much. They’re strong,  determined, beautiful and broken. They’re kind and modest and selfless.

There is no way in the world that I wouldn’t 100% recommend this book. It shows what truly matters in life. It shows how beautiful people can be. It shows the story of unending love.

*********WARNING SPOILERS**********

I can’t get over how selfless Kyland is to have made the decision he made. I just… it blows my mind in the best way. If I could find a guy who had about 10% of the selflessness Kyland has, I’d be the happiest girl on earth. He is… mind blowingly amazing. Because he’s not just selfless. Oh no, he’s caring and beautiful and kind and sweet and protective and my god, my respect for this guy is above this planet’s atmosphere so high.

And Tenleigh is the same. Mia has this way of making me fall just as hard for the girl character as for the male and I’m not bisexual. I had the exact same thing with Archer’s Voice. My love and respect is equally divided between the woman and man. What I love so much is that she shows that a relationship is having equal respect for each other, not just a man worshipping a woman but both ways around.  That they would walk through fire for each other. And it’s not like that’s not the case in other books, but for some reason the equality stands out more in Mia’s books to me. Don’t get me wrong,  a man worshipping his woman is seriously swoonworthy, but in some way the kind of relationship Kyland and Tenleigh have feels more realistic in a way.

