Tags

, , , ,

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater

5 stars MaggieStiefvaterSinner

Synopsis

found.
Cole St. Clair has come to California for one reason: to get Isabel Culpeper back. She fled from his damaged, drained life, and damaged and drained it even more. He doesn’t just want her. He needs her.

lost.
Isabel is trying to build herself a life in Los Angeles. It’s not really working. She can play the game as well as all the other fakes…but what’s the point? What is there to win?

sinner.
Cole and Isabel share a past that never seemed to have a future. They have the power to save each other and the power to tear each other apart. The only thing for certain is that they cannot let go.

My thoughts

What a ride this was. I can’t even call it a roller coaster ride. No. No, it was like those extreme ones. The ones with the sky high top and destructive deep lows. Because that’s Cole. He screams extreme and dangerous and exciting and success and destruction like no one else.

Sinner is the fourth book the Wolves Of Mercy Falls series and focuses on Cole an Isabel’s life several months after Forever ended. I can’t find anywhere that states this book can be read as a standalone, so keep this in mind. Now, I love this series. I opened Shiver for the first time about three and a half years ago and that broken, black haired guy never let my heart go again. But Sam and Grace’s story came to an end in Forever. I closed their book of adventures with a goofy smile on my face and a warm fuzzy feeling in my heart.

I couldn’t say the same for Cole and Isabel. The end scene between these two in Forever was not satisfying to me – and I feel terrible admitting that, but it’s true –  because I SUCK with open endings, big time. I always felt like there was so much more to their story after Forever. So when I heard that they got another chance with Sinner I did one of my not so charming squeals and maybe a tiny happy dance. Don’t worry, I did that in private 😉

Then my paperback came in and I opened this book – I waited a full year because I just HAD to have this gorgeous paperback. I mean, have you seen the epic beauty of this cover? – I couldn’t keep the big goofy smile off my face. I love these two. Oh, how I’ve missed Cole’s uncaring arrogance and mischievous smiles and Isabel’s stubbornness and bitchiness. How I’ve missed Cole’s random conversation topics and actions and Isabel’s strong views and resolution. I thought I knew, but I had no idea how much I really needed this book until I was reading it.

Yet, Cole is known not only for his sunshine. The dark parts of him that he hides behind the famous Cole St. Clair smile stand in one line with the destruction that the chaos inside his head can cause. And that’s exactly the reason why Isabel ran. Whether he likes it or not, Cole’s second name is destruction, and Isabel knows exactly where it will lead, because she saw Cole at his worst and she never wants to witness that again.

Cole knows what he needs and intends on getting it; Isabel. Yet Isabel was never a girl to easily conquer and being the lead singer of a band that once was on top of the world and then at the bottom, is bound to find some trouble in L.A. Not to mention the trouble itself that’s called Cole St. Clair. Though I have to say, when Cole does something, he does it good. Whether he build things up or tears them down.

I loved this ride from start to finish. It had me smiling and screaming (alright alright not literally, but it sure was in my head and it fits well with the ride 😉 ) and feeling restless and excited to terrified of the drop looming just around the corner. It had me wanting to yell at both of their faces and it had me want to hug them close. The Wolves Of Mercy Falls series means a lot to me and I’m just ecstatic that Cole and Isabel got the adventure they deserved. Because that’s what Sinner is, down to the core.

Do I recommend? Yes, yes I totally recommend Sinner! I couldn’t have hoped for a better ending to Cole and Isabel’s story than Sinner. So I want to give a huge wolf-paw of a high-five to Maggie Stiervater for Sinner. This was exactly what I’d been hoping for ever since I finished Forever. So thank you for that Maggie.

 

*

I feel like this is an awful review… I don’t know why, but I can’t seem to put my thoughts on paper well today. It makes me feel like I’m not giving this book the review it deserves and I hate that, because it might make this book more uninteresting to read to other when all I want is to promote it because I loved Sinner and Cole and Isabel and the way it’s written. It’s all over the place but it’s supposed to be like that because Cole is all over the place as well.

*

**** WARNING, SPOILERS AHEAD*****

 

I don’t even know where to start. There’s just so much happening in this book and these characters are so familiar to me that it’s hard forming an opinion. And that’s friggin’ weird, I know. The thing is, I’ve known these characters for so long and because this series has always had a special place in my heart, that this ending just seems like justice. Like these three years of open ending just evaporated and it was always supposed end like this. I’m not sure if I’m still making any sense at all… Doesn’t matter, it does to me. 😛

It’s just… In the end Cole is just broken, uncertain, sad and lonely. Searching for love and acceptance, for his place in the world, not just by the people around him but also himself. He’s haunted by what happened to Victor and he hides it all. At times he had even me fooled by that famous smile and I feel sad for him knowing just how lonely he was for so long.

At the same time, Isabel… she pretends not to give a crap to stay safe. And I get her, I so get her reaction, but at the same time I want to shake her because it’s so clear that they need each other. They are the same in a lot of things, and that is exactly the reason why  the odds of saving each other and tearing each other down are such a close call.

Baby though. I don’t know what to think of her. She had a point in saying she wasn’t the one destroying the predecessors, that they did it themselves, but she sure as hell didn’t do anything to keep them from it either. Leon, though, I loved him. I love how a random chauffeur got quite a part in this book. It started with Leon and ended with him.

What I found really interesting was how Maggie used the wolf part in this book as a drug. Like, in the other books of this series, the wolf part is a major part. It’s about solving it, understanding it, but Sinner didn’t focus at all on that. It was Cole’s escape, his way out of reality. Like he said it, it was cleaner then drugs and with less side-effects, but the intention was the same. I really liked how she worked out the wolf-part in L.A.

