Tags

, ,

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

5.6 starsKatieMcGarryNowhereButHere

Synopsis

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

 

My thoughts

Immediately after opening this book, I was sucked straight into the dangerous and suspenseful world of a motorcycle club. And wow, I loved what I found there!

One of the things I found was Oz. Oz is loyal and dangerous. Protective and rebellious. Dark and gorgeous. He’s known what he wants his whole life and he won’t let anyone take it from him. But once he loves you, he turns worlds upside down to make you happy and keep you safe. I love Oz.  I love the pure goodness inside of him, the taking-care side of the ones he considers family. His loyalty to said people. His unstoppable determination and trustworthiness. His dark hair and blue eyes and sexy smile and ripped abs and his black boots and motorcycle and so much more. I don’t think I’ve found a single thing I didn’t like about him.

What started out with a penance for a mistake Oz made on a crucial night, turns into an unexpected yet passionate attraction between two young people from two entirely different worlds who no one wants together. Emily is, to say the least, overwhelmed when she is thrown into the world of Reign Of Terror. From the safety of Florida, a good life with good parents and good friends, she is thrown in the middle of a rival between two enormous motorcycle clubs with men in black leather cuts on thunder rumbling motorcycles wearing terrifying expressions.  Yes, she was curious about her biological father, but being stuck in his world? No thanks.

Yet the choice wasn’t hers to make. And so she is forced to deal with a family she never knew existed, alone. Or not? Oz constantly keeps an eye on her, and even when she wants to run from all these unknown people and chaos and danger, she can’t deny his beauty or how she feels safe around him. She finds out attraction is a funny thing and you don’t have a say in it. Besides, Oz lived here his whole life. He has the answers she seeks. Yet Oz’ his heart is with the club and he would never stab a knife into the backs of the people he’s always considered his family.

This book had me fidgeting and squirming in my seat for far way the biggest part of it. The tension is major, and I am not just talking about the sexual kind. 😉 This is a motorcycle book and holy mothers of all the earth, it rings in every sentence. The way of dressing, the motorcycles, the atmosphere, everything was wound tight and had me absolutely glued to the page. This was my first motorcycle book and sweet-mother I think I need more. I know I need more!

Reign Of Terror stands for the most important things in life. Loyalty. Taking care of your family. Trust. Love. Together they’re strong and have each other’s back. That’s what I love so much about this club. Maybe you’ll roll your eyes at what I’m about to say (but I’m saying it anyway), but I think that more people should live with the kind of loyalty they do. It’s not about each individual on its own. It’s about family and being a part of the large picture. If people would be more like Reign Of Terror, there would be a lot less hurt and heartache in the world. Now that’s enough of the sappiness because what I sure as fuck do not want to create is the idea of them being softies. Because they’re not. At all. Softies. AT ALL. Let that be clear. Yes? Awesome, then we can continue.

I love each and everyone one of the characters Katie has. She creates characters out of the ordinary way and those are the ones I love the most. She shows that each individual is their own person and no matter the clothes someone wears, the haircut you have or social group someone has been pushed or stepped into, every person deserves respect and to be treated as equal. Everyone should be able to live and love in the way they please and not be looked down on for it. Open your mind to things and ways of life you don’t understand and you’ll see they’re not as different from yourself if you just put interest in the people around you. Respect for the people around you is something we seem to be forgetting about these days when it’s one of the keys to the ‘perfect society’ everyone is secretly or not secretly searching for.

Katie creates these kind of stories and it’s why she is very high listed on my favourite author’s list. I love her writing style and the characters she creates. Love the story they have to tell and the transition they go through throughout the book. Katie creates characters that move me every time and Nowhere But Here is no exception. I have to admit that I was a little sad when I heard Katie was putting the Pushing The Limits series to the side for another project. Now I got excited about the new project when I heard it would be about a motorcycle club, but this… Oh Katie I cannot WAIT for the next instalment in this series and the next and the next. I LOVE this series and I could have known she never disappoints.

You can probably guess it, but yes, YES YES YES I recommend Nowhere But Here. It’s suspenseful and exciting, nerve-wracking and heartbreaking,  sad and happy, and overall a beautiful story about how taking risks can lead to unimaginable things and  how the true strength of a family bond  and love can change your life forever.

One more thing, have you seen the beautiness of this cover???

SO GORGEOUS!!