Tags

, , ,

Sweet by Tammara Webber

5.5 starsTammaraWebberSweet

Synopsis

He’s the love of her life, but he doesn’t know it.

She’s his one moment of sacrifice in a lifetime of survival.

He was damaged and wild, but resilient.

She’s always been obedient. Now she’s restless.

Home for the summer between college and med school, Pearl Torres Frank knows two things: Boyce Wynn is the embodiment of everything she should run from, and everything she wants to run to. Rebellious and loud. Unconcerned with society’s opinion of him. Passionate. Strong. Dangerous.

And one more trait he hides from everyone but her:

Sweet.

My thoughts

Sweet tells the story of two people who’ve known each other almost their whole lives, from a distance and very close, but never really got a chance to become something more. Boyce and Pearl are like a yoyo, life keeps pulling them away from each other, whereas they always try to find a way to  pull each other close.

Sweet is… a sweet love story of tough-on-the-outside, soft-on-the-inside Boyce and quiet and intelligent Pearl that will suck you straight into the book with the very first sentence. She’s home for the summer between college and med school, and home means closer to Boyce. They try to stay away, but how can you ignore something that’s been going on for years?

Boyce is all tall, broad and dangerous looking, fighting hard with demons that haunt every day of his life. He’s sexy as hell with his dirty mouth, broad freckled  shoulders, forest green eyes, ripped chest and straight-to-the-point honesty. His loyalty, respective and protective traits finish the deal. I fell hard. Very hard, because my god, what’s not to love about this man? *heart eyes*

I loved every second of this book and I hadn’t expected any different because Tammara Webber is a phenomenal author. She creates captivating stories with strong willed characters that stand for who they are and fight for what they want without letting others bring them down. They’re strong and brave, sad and beautiful and they have a personality that stands for itself. Pearl and Boyce will entertain you and teach you something on life at the same time.

That’s another aspect I love about not only Sweet, but the other books I’ve read in this series. Tammara Webber have beside the obvious entertaining purpose, always an aspect of an important social message to tell. Something many people have a certain kind of opinion on. That’s what makes them realistic, and easy to relate to. It’s entertaining while you learn to look at certain social subjects on a different way. Pearls demons… they came insanely close to my own. I recognized her fears and worries so well, because I have the same ones at least once a week.

This is an alternate point of view book and I have to admit I love that the most . It’s how you get to know both of the main characters in the best way. I love being in both of their heads and hearing both of their opinions on situations.

In an interview I read, Tammara said that Sweet can be read as a standalone, and according to her editor, she even enjoyed this book better reading it first. So that’s why I’m treating Sweet like this in my review. It’s hard, because the first two books are so mind-blowingly amazing, it’s really hard not saying anything about them, but when Tammara says that her editor enjoyed the first two books even more after reading Sweet, all that’s left for me to say is if you haven’t read them yet, all I can do is highly recommend all three of them. 😉

Sweet is about love, loyalty, demons and being brave. It’s about standing up for yourself and surviving. It’s about not waiting for a second chances, but making it. And I can tell you Boyce is very good at making you squirm in your seat and feeling hot even when it’s cold outside.

Taking everything together, Sweet has everything I look for in a great book. For that, I highly recommend it. Something that had me jumping around cheering too was Tammara’s announcement that she is working on yet another book in The Contours Of The Heart series!! Can’t wait to find out more about this!

****************WARNING, SPOILERS*************

During Breakable, we met Boyce and Pear already, and my love for these persons already started there. What I hadn’t known at all was the secret bond these two had ever since they were little kids. Boyce might not see himself as a hero, but he is. Pearl’s personal guardian angel with a touch of rebellious black-edged wings around a heart of gold. That they would find their way back to each other was obvious from the moment they met, but I loved the path they took. I loved seeing the transition from friendship to something filled with passion and unconditional love between Boyce and Pearl. Loved seeing how they found their way back to each other while growing up every time, in one way or another, until they realized they were at their best when they were together.

And then there’s the friendship between Boyce and Lucas. Because I’m trying hard to keep my promise of seeing this as a standalone, I won’t fangirl too much about Lucas – fighting to keep my fingers from typing the words coursing through my head – but what I do want to say about it is that Lucas and Boyce found the exact friend they needed in each other that they could ever find. They saved each other in a time were everything seemed unending darkness. One more thing, what was that about Lucas getting a baby sister???! I NEED TO KNOW MORE ABOUT THIS OH MY GOD. I’M FREAKING OUT. He’s gonna be the best big brother in the entire world!

Then there’s the friendship between Pearl and Mel and I can’t help but get a totally different vide than between Boyce and Lucas. Maybe that is partly due to the fact that I highly dislike Melody since Breakable and what she did to Lucas, but that’s not just it. It’s how she doesn’t support her best friend in a time when Pearl needs it the most. It is one more point for the realistic side of this story, because sadly, I’ve had more friends forming an opinion and calling me crazy for some decisions I’ve made than one who stuck by my side.

My love for Dr. Frank is HIGH. He is the example of how people should treat the ones he loves, blood related or not. What he did for Boyce is truly awesome and all I can say is, ‘Keep rocking, Dr. Frank!’

Now if I could just get my hands on the fourth book in this series… I’m addicted to The Contours Of The Heart and her characters :3

