Tags

, , , , ,

Never Never part 2 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

5/5.5 starsColleenHooverNeverNever2

Synopsis

“Never forget that I was your first real kiss. Never forget that you’ll be my last.
And never stop loving me between all of them.
Never stop, Charlie.
Never forget.”
Silas races against time as more truths unravel, while others twist tighter together. And now, the stakes are higher as Silas’ control slips and others begin to point fingers. Charlie is in trouble and he must be the one to bridge the chasm between their past and their present. Because somewhere between I love yous and Never Nevers and Never Agains, a truth they can’t imagine, beckons to be found.

“Where are you, Charlie?”

 

My thoughts

GAAAAHH THIS BOOK! Leave it up to Colleen and Tarryn to drive you absolutely crazy! I swear, who thought it was a good idea to put Colleen and Tarryn on  a project together is either a great, great human being or the worst. I really really love it, but I keep ending up so, so confused and it’s fucking with my head. Not that I expected anything different, to be honest, after part one.

But still. Just, wow! I feel like a thousand things are happening and nothing is happening. You get sucked in straight into the magnificent, mysterious, mind-blowing adventure of Charlie and Silas from page one and it will leave you with a thousand more question than when you started, but you’ll get answers too(if that helps 😉 ). Never Never part one was one giant roller coaster ride to the extreme, as we’ve all experienced. Part two was definitely another roller coaster, but more… contained in a way. We still get tossed from one side to the other, but we get some explanations whereas in part one nothing made sense at all and I was trying to find clues in every single word.

I’m still completely mind-fucked, let that be clear, but in a different way. To be honest, I am dying to find out how everything I now know will all come together in one logical story, because right now, everything feels like a bomb that was put on hold halfway through the explosion. I see so many different pieces, but for the life of me, I cannot put them together to make the original bomb again and see the whole picture. It doesn’t make sense. Any of it. And I try out every scenario in my head, but I just don’t get it.

Except one thing. Whenever Charlie and Silas are together, they are absolutely adorable. As I’m used to from Colleen, she created a male character that stole my heart immediately. I don’t know how she does it, but it happens every single time. Her guys are perfect and flawed in this super realistic way and it totally gets to my heart. Her boys are one of my absolute favourites with all their awesome aspects.

Do I recommend this novella? YES. Simply just yes. Okay, so there’s a chance that your heart get teared out somewhere along the way, but you survived part one too, right? Barely, but still. Ha. Anyway, I don’t think you can honestly let this novella pass you by when you’ve read part one – because no one can tell me she/he isn’t dying to find out what’s coming after that cliffhanger – and you shouldn’t! Because it’s just such an intense experience and totally worth the pain your heart and mind will go through. Believe me, I’ve been there. 😉

*********WARNING SPOILERS**********

This novella is one giant big ass mindfuck with a cliffhanger at the end. That sums it up pretty quickly, I think. In part 1 we didn’t know anything at all, really. In part 2, we get more on their past and their relationship and family, quite a lot actually, but even though we get some answers, barely anything seems to be related and almost nothing makes any sense at all.

And then there’s the end of chapter 15!! WHAT THE HELL? I KNEW IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH HER AND THAT HOUSE. MY MIND IS BLOWING UP. My theory is that The Shrimp has been one of the people who Charlie cussed out on after everything happened with her father, what Silas was talking about in one of his letters to her. The mother refused to accept that her child was bullied, and having voodoo powers, she decided to put them to use. I know it sounds ridiculous, but it’s the only thing I can come up with now. Why Silas and Charlie keep forgetting who they are, why they kidnapped Charlie and mind-fucked her even more and called her Sammy. Why Charlie had this feeling to go to that specific tarot shop.

That name though, for the house. Charlie came up with it. I have to admit it’s seriously genius. When that gate kept coming up and Silas found out the name of the house, I knew it was related to them, to what is happening. And then when it got explained and they were talking about an anonymous buyer, I knew it had to do with what was happening too. But fuck, it’s messed up when you think about it. And that makes me wonder about the why? Gahhhh, I need part three!

I do have to admit that this cliffhanger is not as bad as the last one, even though they’re at the  exact same point as they were at the end of the first part, yet totally different. You get what I mean? At least… at least we know they’re together and they are surrounded by everything they know, right? That should make everything so much easier. But. That’s exactly the problem. It’s too easy. So that’s why I have this sickening feeling that Colleen and Tarryn are going to do a quick turn and blow everything up in our faces again. I’m fearing for my heart.

Something I noticed and really shows Colleen’s and Tarryn’s writing skills are how many different sides there are to Silas and Charlie. Because they forget who they are, their interests and view on things are based on that very moment – or two days at most – so things that used to be this huge thing in their lives, they don’t give a shit about now. Every time they forget who they are, they are completely different persons, yet the protectiveness Silas feels over Charlie stays the same. Very few things like that don’t change, but the rest does and I love every side of Silas and Charlie that I read about, because somehow, all those small personalities will in the end come together as one person – or that’s what we’re desperately hoping, right? It’s so well done.

Something else. We get to be inside Silas’ head more often than Charlie’s and with everything going on, I feel like I’ve been in Silas head for weeks or months. Then I realized, though, holy shit, it’s just 48 hours. That’s how long I’ve actually been inside his head.  So many events are happening, it’s crazy. I loved LOVED to see so many things on their past, though. It totally made me fall head over heels for Silas. They’re just so cute together! Charlie is all though chick and I totally love her for it. I’m sad to see how the problems of their father’s has broken her apart. It’s so true what Silas said in one of those letters, about her hurting others so that they can’t hurt her. You can see the differences in the memories of before and after the break of their fathers.

I can’t help but think that Silas father has more answers than Silas thinks. The problem is that is such a complete douchebag. Even though the tarot reader – alias The Shrimps mother – has way more to do with all this than I originally thought, I can’t help but think about what she said. ‘What I can tell you is that you need to remember what it is that someone so desperately wanted you to forget.’ And, ‘the answers to your questions lie with someone who is very close to you.’ I know that she could have meant that literally and meant herself, but all the calls from his father… I don’t know. Why is it only his father who calls? Never his mother, while she seemed like a nice, caring woman. Is it just the football game the man is so obsessed about, or is it more?

But then, someone wants you to forget. It could be themselves. What if something went horribly wrong and it was Charlie and Silas themselves who wanted to forget. There is still the unexplained blood and mud on the sheets in part one. And the files from Silas father that not Charlie was hiding, but Silas himself. They were on to something, but what?

I’m not getting any further with figuring it out, no matter how much I think about it. Which is why I should probably stop and just search a shit load of really good books to get my mind of this bloody mystery until part three comes out. I have no idea how they’re going to solve it all in just one more novella. No clue at all. I just fiercely hope Tarryn won’t end up right the last chapter on that one, because I honestly don’t think my heart could take it.

Seriously.

