Tags

, , ,

When I’m Gone by Abbi Glines

5 starsAbbiGlines-WhenImGone2

Synopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the next new adult novel in the Rosemary Beach series, in which we meet Mase, a Texas heartthrob first introduced in Take a Chance who comes to Rosemary Beach to stir things up.

I had an urge to fix all her problems. Which was stupid. She was doing fine without me. But something about those big eyes…

Mase Colt-Manning has always preferred his humble life as a Texas rancher to his birthright as the son of a legendary rock star. In fact, he rarely visits his father’s rarefied world in Rosemary Beach, especially if it means bunking at his vile half-sister Nan’s house—until one visit leads to a chance encounter with a young, gorgeous house maid who awakens him with her off-key but spirited imitation of a country music star…

Reese Ellis finally has her freedom. After escaping a lifetime of abuse from her parents and classmates for an undiagnosed learning disorder, she seizes the opportunity to be a house maid to some of the richest families in Rosemary Beach. But her job is in jeopardy when she causes an accident at the home of her most important client, Nan Dillon. When a hot, half-naked stranger with a cowboy’s swagger comes to her rescue, she’s intrigued—then afraid once he shows his own interest. Reese has never met a trustworthy man in her life. Will Mase be any different?

My thoughts

Mase Colt Manning. Texas bound. Cowboy. Hair that’s long enough to be pulled into a bun. Son of a rockstar. Super sexy. Protective. Caring. Hot.

Do I need to say more?

Didn’t think so. Although I could say many more. Mase has worked hard to get his life the way it is. He refused to take advantage of being the son of a rockstar. He just wants to live his life in peace and quiet. Until he is brutally awakened by very off-key singing after only a few hours’ sleep in his sister’s house.

Reese Ellis is beautiful and stunning, but to her, that’s exactly the problem. She ran hard from a past she desperately wants to forget. She’s still running, but her demons refuse to let her go. So when she causes an accident while on the job, she’s worrying more about her job than herself. Shocked by being helped rather than scolded, her brain has a hard time keeping up. But men are only interested in one thing when it comes to her. Right?

Demons from the past can be more destructive to your future than you think. It can make you blind for certain looks or emotions. Something it makes you unable to see reality for what it is. They can also make you determined, strong and brave. Because dealing with demons, you have to be just that to survive. I think that is displayed very well in When You’re Gone. It has a powerful message and shows the massiveness of struggles someone can have, having been neglected your whole life. At the same time, it shows the beauty in people. How one person’s trust can turn your life around. All of that is wrapped up in a heart melting and breaking, engaging and let’s not forget incredibly sexy story as only Abbi can write it. When I’m gone will have you squirming in your seat, melting into a puddle and biting your nails. That I can tell you. 😉

Something I wanted to give some special attention to is Jimmy. I friggin love Jimmy! He’s shown his pretty face in a lot of different Rosemary Beach books by now(nearly all of them really) and with every book I love him more. He’s this guy who you’re used is there and I’ve loved him from the start, but now I started thinking… because we’re so used to him being awesome and sweet, he’s going up in the whole story. That isn’t fair to him. He is of major importance and I think he may get a little underrated in general. I so wish he wouldn’t, though! He’s amazing and caring and sweet and I’m kind of really hoping that we will be able to get his story one day. He deserves to be known as the main character.

As for recommendation, yes I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. Although it can be read as a standalone if you’re only interested in Reese and Mase’ story, I would want to say, at the very least consider the other books in this series. This book is further in time, so it will – I repeat – IT WILL gives spoilers to at least some of the earlier coming books in this series and if you ask me, that is a giant shame. I have loved all the books in this series and wish for everyone to have as much fun getting to know these characters as I did, and for that, you really do need to start at the beginning.

