Tags

, , ,

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

5/5.5 starsJojoMoyes-MeBeforeYou2

Synopsis

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My thoughts

There are some books, some stories that you read once and never let you go again. They change you, the way you look at the world, your opinion on things, how you look at your own life. This is one of those books.

I don’t even have words for it. I can’t even properly fangirl, it was just so, so sad, but beautiful. You see my struggle here? I don’t think I will ever be able to give this book the review it deserves. There were just so many different elements that I can never name them all. It is gripping and heartbreaking and confronting and sad and absolutely beautiful.

This is a story of making choices and living, just live. It’s about how two people can completely turn each other’s life around for good in a way they’d never even considered. It’s about opportunities and friendship, responsibilities and making a life of your own. And it’s a bloody heartbreaker.

What immediately got my attention the moment I started reading was the fact that Me Before You takes place in the UK. That’s  not something I see often(something that might have to do with my inability to find these books), but that makes it that much more interesting. There’s a different vibe in the first chapter already because of it and it stays throughout the whole book. It’s more down to earth it seems. Although that also might be because of the subject.

The simplicity of Louisa’s life gets you with both feet on the ground within 2 seconds. It is almost scary  how her and my own thoughts on some subjects are alike, especially in the beginning. It’s one if the reasons this book spoke to me immediately.

And then there is Will. My god. I don’t even know how to continue, honestly. At least not without giving away parts of the story. So I won’t say more, just that, in my opinion, everyone should meet Will. It will make you rethink your own life in a way that is just so confronting, but… important. It shows the vulnerability of life and how much we take it for granted.

I know this spoiler free part of the review is short, and I’m sorry about that, but I’m still too emotionally invested in this book to form an opinion. All I can say is that it was more than worth the tears I cried and laughter that escaped me when I wasn’t alone. Me Before You will leave a mark on your heart and you will think of these two characters long after you’re finished. I found myself unable to think of much else during the whole time I was reading this book. So yes, I recommend this book to everyone.

Now I’m gonna crawl into a corner and try to somehow overcome this bookhangover. Wish me luck. I’m gonna need it.

********WARNING SPOILERS***********

Oh my god. Just… Seriously.

This was so confronting in so many ways. It feels like I’m letting Will down, not making the most of my life. Is that weird? I know that at this point, I’ll just have to get through this period and I chose this, but I never had these giant set goals for my life. I’m perfectly fine with leading a simple, ordinary life, but reading Me Before You made me feel kind like a dick about it. There are people out there who were stopped from reaching the goals they set and here I am, able to follow my dreams(or at least more able to) and I’m not taking the opportunity. I just… wouldn’t even know how.

This book is just so different from the other books I’ve read. It’s so real. It hit me in the face like I ran into a glass door on full speed. And I know it might be me, because I’ve lived through a situation like this. I have a family member who suffered from a truly awful disease that he passed away from, so this subject came incredibly close. Because he decided that he couldn’t bear to suffer longer, he took the same steps as Will. The difference with my family was that he knew that when he wouldn’t have done it, he’d only lived two weeks longer, so it was his escape out of his misery. So I got Will, I did. But it didn’t make it less heartbreaking. To be honest, I think it’s an incredibly brave decision. Just imagine that you have to make the decision to end your own life because the suffering just gets too bad and you’re constantly in pain. That you can feel the life seeping out of yourself and you can’t stop it. It’s fucking terrible.

So can you imagine what it would take to do this without being absolutely terrified? I don’t think I would be brave enough to do what he did, simply because I have no idea what would come after. That’s the point. Everyone has their opinion on a subject like this, but if you would go back to yourself, what would you do? Would you rather live a miserable life you never wanted, or would you make a decision just for you?

Something that definitely caught my attention was that it wasn’t legal in England. In my country, under specific circumstances, it is, so we didn’t fear breaking any laws. I think, that in some situations, this should be possible. Because some diseases make your life inhuman and after everything is said and done, it’s still your life and your choice.

