Tags

, , , ,

Beautiful Redemption by Jamie McGuire

5 stars

JamieMcGuire-BeautifulRedemption

                 *

Synopsis

If A Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever. But what if he didn’t love you, first? 

No-nonsense Liis Lindy is an agent of the FBI. Deciding she is married only to her job, she breaks off her engagement and transfers from Chicago to the field office in San Diego. She loves her desk. She is committed to her laptop. She dreams of promotions and shaking hands with the director after cracking an impossible case. 

Special Agent in Charge Thomas Maddox is arrogant, unforgiving, and ruthless. He is tasked with putting away some of the world’s toughest criminals, and he is one of the best the Bureau has to offer. Though, as many lives as he’s saved, there is one that is beyond his reach. Younger brother Travis is faced with prison time for his involvement in a basement fire that killed dozens of college students, and the media want a conviction. Travis’s only savior is his unusual tie to the mob. In a deal that will spare his brother, Thomas has agreed to recruit Travis into the FBI.        

Liis is stubborn, defiant, and yet somehow softens Thomas’s rough edges, making her the perfect agent to accompany him to the ceremony. Posing as a couple, they must travel to Travis & Abby’s beach vow renewal and give him the news, but when the pretending ends, she finds herself wondering if they were pretending at all. 

 

In the second installment of the Maddox Brothers books, experience firsthand the mysterious world of the elusive Thomas Maddox, and how good love can be when you’re not the first, but the last. 

 

My thoughts

Intense, heartbreaking and absolutely crazy making. In the good way.

Liis is 100% married to her job and all kinds of cool (and I don’t meant the sun-glass-wearing kind of cool). She’s not easily moved and needs everything clarified. It’s one of the things that makes her so good at her job. Thomas is not much different, yet together they might soften each other’s rough edges. Demons are hiding close by in the shadows at all times, though, waiting for the most destructive moment to appear.

I’ve been led into the Maddox family by Travis, and I can’t get enough of these boys. Who would, right? Yet, I couldn’t really get a hang of who Thomas was in the other books. He was closed and distant, so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I stared Beautiful Redemption. No clue what direction he was gonna go in.

It turned out, Jamie has more than succeeded in making me fall in love with the eldest Maddox brother. He was not who I expected him to be, but that might have been the exact reason I fell even harder. In comparison to the other books in the Beautiful series – and with that I mean both the Disaster series and the Maddox Brothers series – this is something totally different. Thomas and Liis are rising in their careers and for that way beyond their college period. And their occupation is not in the least comparable to the last Maddox Brothers book.

Which helps me remember, please, please, please don’t read this review, or Beautiful Redemption before you’ve read Beautiful Oblivion if you plan on reading it. Believe me, you don’t want to ruin the awesomeness of Beautiful Oblivion. I fell 100% in love with Trent. Seriously. *heart eyes*

Okay, that being said, back to Beautiful Redemption.

This is a story that shows how destructive someone’s fears can be for his or her own future. It’s about how feelings from the past might keep you in such a tight grip it could cause you to lose the best thing you have in the present.

Thomas definitely stayed true to his Maddox genes. I already said this in my review of Beautiful Oblivion, but I think it takes some serious awesome writing skills to create, up until now, 3 different characters that are so alike in several ways  and yet still totally different. Jamie was able to create yet again a true Maddox brother who also was totally his own person with his own specific characteristics. Epic job, Miss McGuire!

What I also loved to see was how we get a peek at Travis’ and Abby’s life after Walking Disaster. I always love hearing how the ‘original couple’ are doing. Speaking of Travis and Abby, that disaster side of the Maddox family definitely became clear here, too. Everyone knew it the moment something was off, and no one needed Val’s ‘thing’ for that. Seriously, that was intense!

There was one thing I didn’t practically liked, and that was Liis attitude about Trent and Camille as a couple. And Camille alone, not just by Liis but everyone. I understood her point of view with what Liis, and the rest, knew and for the storyline of the book, but… I just love Trent and Camille so much that it is hard to swallow if someone is kinda negative about them. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad enough to the point of irritation. It just made me want to step inside the book and explain to Liis that she had it wrong (A) Is that weird? No, right? Totally normal. 😉

Overall, I loved Beautiful Redemption and I am very happily surprised by the person behind the name of Thomas Maddox. With every book I read about these boys, I fall even more in love with the whole family. For that, the recommendation scale is 100%.

********** WARNING, SPOILERS(of both Maddox Brothers books)*********

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the eldest brother of the Maddox family, since Thomas had always been the most secretive of them all, but I sure as hell didn’t expect him to be a complete asshole at work. Seriously! – Okay, that was my first reaction. Then I found out the truth of that day and I actually thought it was very cute. Funny how opinions can change, right?

That beginning, though! Like, WOW! Steamy! Way to heat things up, Jamie! 😉 We fell right into action – that might very well be the wrong words to explain – and that’s not something I’m used to from Jamie. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing at all, though. Let that be clear. 😉

If I’m being very honest, there were several moments I really didn’t like Liis or Thomas. I understood their reaction later, but at that point I was like, ‘What the fuck are you doing?!’ Thomas was kind of a huge dick at the start – forget kind of – and Liis… Well, Liis could be kind of a cold bitch… She could go one way the first moment and the complete other direction the next. That was definitely her fear of commitment playing up. Which brings me to Thomas’ demons. I hadn’t expected at all that Thomas would so haunted by his decision to become part of the FBI when he knew his family didn’t want it. In Beautiful Oblivion I didn’t understand why he was so secretive about it. Now I did, and gosh, it was so sad! He is buried under the responsibilities of his past, the ones he made to his mother. And then Travis reaction. He just broke down completely. Very unexpected, even though it became clear throughout the story already that he wasn’t as in control of his emotions than he made believe.

That epilogue, though! I LOVED it!! And the secret Liis and Abby had been working on had me totally ecstatic. I have to admit that that is just the perfect escape for Travis.

* I used the cover from Goodreads

