Tags

, , , ,

You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

5 stars AbbiGlinesYouWereMine

Synopsis

From #1 “New York Times” bestselling author Abbi Glines comes a brand-new Rosemary Beach novel about Tripp Newark and his hidden romantic past with Bethy Lowry.

In the eyes of the wealthy playboys who frequent Kerrington Country Club in Rosemary Beach, Tripp Newark is a hero. Under pressure from his parents to become a lawyer and lead a conservative, upper-class life, Tripp disappeared from town five years ago to travel the world, forfeiting the opportunity to inherit millions. Yet few know what he was really running from…

Bethy Lowry was unraveling long before her boyfriend drowned in a riptide trying to save her after she’d had one too many drinks–again. A trailer park kid working as a cart girl among the wealthy patrons of Kerrington Country Club, Bethy has always been impressionable. But five years ago, before she earned her reputation as a hard-drinking, easy girl, she had spent a single summer with Tripp Newark that changed her life forever…

 

My thoughts

A heartbreaking story of loss, grieve, sacrifices and regret.

A warming story of true love, friendship and the power of determination and second chances.

Bethy and Tripp have a past that no one knows about. A past one is doing everything to forget, and the other everything to remember. A past that left scars that are hard, if not impossible, to overcome. With Jace’s passing, Bethy pulled back from everyone around her, wandering through life, and Tripp watched as she did without being able to do anything about it.

The question is, is there a way to save them both?

I always love visiting Rosemary Beach. It is quite possibly my most favourite beach to go. I’ve read all the books in the series, so I knew the background of these two. Which makes this quite a hard review to write. I really don’t want to spoiler anything about the other books if someone hasn’t read them yet so I’m having a hard time with what I can say and what not.

Anyway, I’m gonna try my best. I was so sad for Bethy and Tripp. I’d seen glimpses of their lives in the other books, so I knew this was going to be heartbreaking. And it was. I have to admit I was pretty pissed off when Jace passed in an earlier book, not understanding how Abbi could do that, but I understand that Bethy’s story wasn’t over yet. That doesn’t mean I like it, though. The heartache in this book was huge, but it wasn’t just that. It is also a story of healing and trying to move on. Of accepting and searching for happiness.

If you’ve read any of the other books in the series, the recommendation scale is definitely 100%. If you haven’t, I’d say consider starting at the beginning, even though each book can be read as a standalone (that’s what I thought anyway). The thing is, the storylines before this one are done and because it’s all the same group of friends, you get more than just small glimpses of their lives and for that this book will big time spoiler all the books before. So if you plan on reading more books in this series, start with the first. And I truly recommend them all, because each and every one of them has an amazing and unique story to tell with characters that will touch you deep inside.

 

 

***************WARNING, SPOILERS*************

 

 

Even though You Were Mine was so incredibly sad in so many ways, it also showed the beauty of the resoluteness to take care of someone. That was one of the many things I truly love about Tripp. No matter how hard Bethy pushed him away, he always came back and made sure she was safe. He’s caring and sweet and protective and yes, steamy hot in that typical Abbi Glines way.

My heart broke for them so many times. There were so many regrets of the past they had to overcome and deal with before they could even think about being together again, but to me it was clear that they were meant to be. They just needed time. And a lot of it.

I have to say that I loved the ending. It was so, so sweet and heartwarming. It was amazing to see how they had started to heal from all the things that happened in the past.

