Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

5/5.5 stars 

SynopsisColleenHooverTFNeverNever

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

 

My thoughts

Oh. My God. Give me a moment. I need some time to recover. I’m experiencing a MAJOR book hangover right now…

 

HOLY SHIT COLLEEN ARE YOU KIDDING ME? LIKE SERIOUSLY? You’re leaving me hanging here like this till May? UGGGGHHHHHHHH.

Okay. Now that I’ve got that out of system… What an experience this book was! I’ve never read anything like it and it was such an intense down-to-the-core  I-NEED-to-know-what-happened page turner! I swear, I got up in the morning, not being able to wait until the evening, knowing I could pull back from society and continue. These characters and their story invaded my thoughts all day.

I love so many things about this book. I love the dynamic way this is written because it has two writers to take turns in writing a chapter. I love that at the end of some of Charlie’s chapters, Tarryn is creating this scene as if to say, ‘HA, Colleen. Good luck finding out how to continue this one.’ I love to see the fun they had while writing this between the lines. I LOVE Colleens male characters! SO MUCH. I was like 5 sentences into the first chapter of Silas and I was like, GAH, I missed Colleen’s guys! She is just so good at writing from the male perspective! Her ability to create awesome guys with great personalities that are just SO believable is not something I see in a lot of other author’s works. I don’t know how she does it, but her guys captivate me immediately, every time again. I love Charlie’s sarcasm. She’s hilarious. I love pretty much everything about this book, expect for the end –I’m glaring at you Colleen Hoover.

No, I’m kidding. I knew there would be a cliffhanger before I started and I really, really, really don’t like cliffhangers(understatement), but you know, it’s a book half written by Colleen Hoover so there is no way I’m not reading it, but Colleen was right when she said it is a series and to be very honest – and yes, it hurts to admit this because I’m crushing my own heart saying this – but this story needed a cliffhanger in a way…

Is that a weird thing to say for someone who hates cliffhangers?
Yes.

Did I rip my own heart out because of it?
Yes.

Is there a but coming?
Yes.

*Deep breath* I didn’t see the end coming until I was like 2 pages away from it. It was then that the pieces started to fall and once they did, they crushed me. The thing is, this whole book is about suspense and mystery and even a hint of something ominous. So it only seems fitting that the end is the same. The only thing that REALLY sucks is that I will probably be stuck on thinking about what could possibly happen next for the coming 3 months… I feel sorry for the people around me… Although, I got my sister to read Never Never with me(she’s 2 chapters from the end, poor her) so maybe, just maybe, I will be able to blow off some steam to her. That is, if she lets me.

Recommendation scale, even with the cliffhanger, 100%. I honestly feel the same thing Colleen said before( and that honestly comes as a surprise, because I had not expected to feel that way at all) I know it has a cliffhanger and even if you hate those, this book is still worth the read. Like a lot, if you ask me.

All I have left to say now is, thank you Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher, for letting me be a part of the epicness you can create when combined and let May get here soon! Not just because I seriously hate the cold, but also because I really need to know how this will continue.

 

 

 

****************WARNING, SPOILERS*********************

 

 

There were so many elements to this book that captivated me. But also so many things that are left unsaid. I know that’s what the next part is for, to hopefully get more answers, but still. I want to know them now, haha!

What was one of the most interesting things about this book was the whole, I’m-getting-a-second-shot-at-life-so-I-can-do-it-better-this-time feeling. It was so intriguing to be a part of a process where someone is forced to get to know himself all over and look at himself without any kind of prejudged view and then what you find in that moment, if you even like the person you were.

What I loved to see was how in the beginning, it was so clear they were writing for fun, but the farther I came into the book, the more serious they became about this project and it really turned into a serious book. What I also loved to was how in the beginning, their writing styles were so different from each other, but the farther I got into the book, the more they seemed to adapt to each other’s way of writing and they formed a unity.

I get the feeling I’m forgetting something, but I’ll come back when I find my brain back and remember. I’m pretty sure it’s still stuck with Silas in his car…

OH SHIT! I haven’t even thought about this before,  but OHH NOOO the cover of the second part! I just caused my heart to skip in fear. Like, I DON’T LIKE WHERE THIS IS GOING!

