Tags

, , , ,

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

 

5.5 starsKatieMcGarryPushingTheLimits

Synopsis

So wrong for each other …and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

 

My thoughts

I don’t even know where to start. I love this book so much. The first time I read this book(this was the second time – I wanted to re-read PTL before I started Breaking The Rules), I was blown away by the amazingness of these two characters. The growth they go through is one of many reasons why this book is so, so powerful. They are brave and strong and fight for what they want.

Echo’s life turned upside-down after an incident she can’t even remember.

Noah’s life turned into a living hell one day and he is determined to make things right again.

When their paths cross and they decide to help each other in a desperate search for normalcy. Help turns into attraction, attraction turns into feelings, but the need to find normal again might very well out rule the rest…

This is a book about love, loss, friendship, betrayal, second chances and rebuilding trust. It’s about the strength of family. It’s about two young people with amazing characters and an old soul.

Noah is, well, swoonworthy. Very swoonworthy.  But he’s not just that. I loved him from the start, for the person that he is. He’s mysterious, but we get to know him through his own eyes faster than Echo does, and that makes this book that much more fun. I love that they both stand for something strong even though life keeps pushing them back down. They don’t give up.

If you’ve read more of my reviews, you might, or not, have noticed I have quite a soft spot  for this specific kind of guy. The dark, mysterious kind. The ones that look all tough and hardcore yet have a  heart of gold and are caring, sweet and protective. Noah definitely belongs in that category and I fell for him after about a page into the book. The further I got, the harder I fell. What can I say? Like I said, he’s pretty fucking amazing.

 

“Fuck me and the rest of the world, I was in love.”
— Pushing the Limits, Katie McGarry 

 

I honestly don’t think I can do this book the credits it deserves with my review. Noah is one of those characters that stole a piece of my heart. He’s cocky, funny and has a fuck-the-world attitude, but at the same time, he’s sweet, persistent, responsible and a care-taker. You just have to proof you deserve to see that side of him. I also really connected with Echo. She’s quiet and sweet, always  trying to please everyone around her, yet also needing her own answers. She’s braver than she gives herself credit for. Combine that as a couple, and you get quite a perfect picture.

They both have issues that scarred them deeply, both physically and mentally speaking. They come from two different worlds, but somehow find each other somewhere in between. The question is, will the world let them?

Recommendation scale; 100%. It turns out I really love all the books I read. I’m being completely honest, though. You don’t want to miss the adventures and personal development these two go through. And the best part, THERE IS A SEQUEL! I swear, when I read Pushing the Limits for the first time, there was nothing that led to even the idea of a sequel, so when I found out a while ago, I jumped around cheering for a while, simply because the idea of being able to read more about these two excited me to the point of not caring what I looked like even though I was not alone. That’s how much I loved Echo and Noah.

Now, I’m off, finally reading Breaking The Rules!!! 😀 😀 😀

See ya all laterrrr!!!!!

