Tags

, , ,

Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

 

5 starsColleenHooverMaybeNot

 

Synopsis

When Warren has the opportunity to live with a female roommate, he instantly agrees. It could be an exciting change.

Or maybe not.

Especially when that roommate is the cold and seemingly calculating Bridgette. Tensions run high and tempers flare as the two can hardly stand to be in the same room together. But Warren has a theory about Bridgette: anyone who can hate with that much passion should also have the capability to love with that much passion. And he wants to be the one to test this theory.

Will Bridgette find it in herself to warm her heart to Warren and finally learn to love?

Maybe.

Maybe not.

 

My thoughts

Colleen Hoover on her best once again. Sweet, funny, sexy, and yet real. This novella is a perfect combination of all that and more. I was laughing half the time because the words coming out of these two’s mouth are just too hilarious. I loved Warren’s way of thinking. I loved Bridgette’s I-always-have-something-to-say-back attitude. I loved every. Single. Word.

I’m not kidding.

Everyone who loved Maybe Someday; you don’t want to miss out on Warrens way of thinking. The familiar pranks go even further here and the peeks of Warren we got in Maybe Someday were nothing compared to how awesome he truly is.

Everyone who did not read Maybe Someday; what are you waiting for? I cannot think of one single reason why to not read it. The concept is amazing and together with the soundtrack by Griffin Peterson, it is unlike anything I’ve ever read. Okay, fandom of Maybe Someday coming through. Yeah, I know, I’ll stop. Just, go read it. And listen to the soundtrack, those songs are to swoon for – just like Griffin and Ridge, by the way. 😉 Okay, okay, I’m getting beside the point again.

Back to Maybe Not.

Colleen said this was meant to be a light story after the emotional overload of writing Ugly Love – which, by the way, is also phenomenal – and it truly is. I could read the fun Colleen must have had writing this in almost every sentence and that made me enjoy this novella even more, even though it deals with some serious issues, too.

What I find interesting is that this is the first novella I read that didn’t feel rushed. Normally with novella’s, I always have the feeling I’m flying through the story because there are only so much pages – or less, I should say – and I always feel like it went by too quickly for everything that happened. I didn’t have that this time. The number of events that happened are perfectly balanced with the number of pages this novella has. And even though I would always like to read more on Warren and Bridgette, this felt right.

Overall, I can’t come up with something I did not like in this book. Which honestly is not surprising since we’re talking about Colleen Hoover here – like, hello – but I just wanted to make that clear a little bit more. I even liked – scratch that, loved – how the title was used within the novella itself. For that, the recommendation level is 100%.

