Tags

, , , ,

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

5.5 stars

MiaSheridanArchersVoice

               *

Synopsis

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

 

My thoughts

I was blown away by this book. The background story of both of these characters. The way the past haunted them. The way they lived with it. This is a one of those books that will change your view on the world. A story that will keep appearing in your mind on daily basis, randomly popping up while you’re walking through town.

This is a story about hurt, betrayal and anger. But also about friendship, joy and hope. A story with characters that will touch your heart. I love Bree, honestly love that girl from the bottom of my heart. There should be more people like her out there. And then there was Archer.

I got to admit, I’ve always had this weakness for broken guys in books. Lucas, Holder, Sam, Noah, Miles*. They are the guys who touched my heart the most. And they were all broken. I don’t know what it is, but I feel this instant draw to them every time. Maybe it’s because they actually show their feelings and that showing that doesn’t mean you are weak, but brave. Maybe it’s because broken guys are sensitive and caring and they pay attention to the world around them.  – – It could also very well be me, because I’ve had a crabby(to say the least) past with men – I’m not even talking about relationships, no. He was supposed to be the role model, supposed to be the one who kept you safe, with the emphasis on supposed.  – – Either way, broken guys get to me.

So did Archer. Like, major. I wanted to hug Archer too many times to count. He had me swooning and ‘awh-ing’ pretty much half the time and the other half my heart ached for him. I really loved the side characters too. How they made appearances once every while and their part in the whole story.

The heartbreak was bad, though. Like, really bad. My bookbuddy and me talked about this thing in books once. The feared ‘that part.’ That part where you know it’s too good to be true and you can almost see everything cracking and spinning out of control right in front of your eyes. When it’s all gonna fall apart and it’s gonna suck and you start to just truly hate the book and you keep hoping; ‘please don’t let this be true.’ It’s a part you know is coming, it’s unavoidable, and you still hate it when it happens and run head first-or heart first, when you think about it- into denial. Most of the time, there’s a little play up to the feared ‘That part.’ There’s this small setback or issue that evolves into a bigger one and a bigger one until everything collapses. You ever noticed that?

Yeah. Me too. I swear. In Archer’s Voice, I felt like I had reached ‘That part’ about 5 times. At some point, I was like; ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? YOU CAN’T KEEP DOING THIS TO ME, OKAY?!

So it was bad and my heart broke so many times, but it was worth it. Because this book will alter your view on the world a bit. It will have you laughing and crying and swooning and feeling hot. It will tell you the story of two amazing persons who deserve to get a voice.

Recommendation scale; 100%. These two are designed to fall in love with. The only thing you have to take into consideration is that the explicitly is high, so this book is rated 18+.

*The guys mentioned up there are from the following books, if their names spiked your interest. Lucas(Easy by Tammara Webber), Holder (Hopeless by Colleen Hoover), Sam (Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater), Noah (Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry), Miles (Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover).

 

 

************** WARNING, SPOILERS. DOUBLE WARNING; ME FANGIRLING*******************

This is just me getting out all the feels without having to withhold anything. It’s not necessarily a coherent story.

 

You know when you go somewhere and you see someone walking that instantly spikes your interest. You look at each other, maybe even nod, and then continue on your way. But the next time, you see him/her again you find yourself watching him/her and get that feeling you want to get to know that person. I don’t know if you ever get that feeling, but I know I did. Mostly, it’s something that fades with time and you never do anything with it. Not Bree. Bree has that with Archer. She wants to know more about him and she doesn’t take no for an answer. I love that about her. She’s determined and when someone tells her to stay away, she’s only more intended to find out more.

What makes this book different from others I’ve read about closed off people, was that in other books, even if they stopped caring or feeling anything after they went through an traumatic experience and act like a hermit, they still take care of themselves. Archer just stopped everything. He goes down town as less as possible, looks like he hasn’t seen a razor or haircutter in months and wears cut offs with holes. There is just no sense of taking care and that’s not something I’ve seen in a book before. It immediately drew my attention.

I don’t know why but I instantly feel this protectiveness coming over me when I’m reading about a broken guy. Like it’s my responsibility to make him see himself for the wonderful strong person he is. Is that weird? Possibly, but I can’t help it.

I love how Mia shows how tiny things like encouragement can mean more to someone than you realize.

When I read the blurb, I wondered  how to interpret this part; “help Archer find his voice.” I was curious whether that would be figuratively speaking, as in, he never stood up for himself, or that he couldn’t speak in general. I’m beginning to think it’s both, and that makes it even more interesting. Knowing the end now, I know it was both and I love how Mia combined the two.

I swear,  this book!! My god. I just need, need, NEED  to step inside this book and hug Archer. I need to somehow show him he’s seeing it wrong. I need to prove him he’s not right. And Bree is doing a wonderful job – I mean it, bless her – but I just feel like I really need to help her out here because they both so deserve to be happy! I’m so sad though. And seriously, I knew it! I knew Connor wasn’t his uncle! Pretty soon I was like, Archer just can’t be related to a monster like that. And I was right. But holy crap, it makes me so utterly sad .

I swear I was sure Archer was gone near the end. And the poem was inclining the same. And then the get-together felt like it could be a memorial or his funeral and I thought I lost it. I really had to take a moment to calm down when I read ‘he came back.’

OH my gosh that epilogue though! :3

* I used the cover from Goodreads

