Tags

, ,

Happenstance 2 by Jamie McGuire

First and foremost, read this please.

I wasn’t sure about writing this review and that has nothing to do with this book. Which is exactly why this part is important.

The thing is, my personal life has gone to shit lately and it’s causing a major lot of stress, which has me reacting to things different than I would normally do. I know that reviews can play a big role in the decision of whether or not to read a certain book. That’s why I wanted to say here that if you feel like I’m not very enthusiastic about a book, I don’t want you to think; ‘so it probably isn’t worth reading.’ I want to keep you from taking that conclusion because it is not about the book. It’s me. And the shit bitch that’s called life.

Anyway. I doubted about writing this review because I don’t want to lead anyone in a wrong direction, but then, since I started writing reviews, it also feels like I’m betraying a writer if I don’t write one. (I know that’s probably bullshit, but you know, I love the authors as persons, seeing everything they do on twitter and instagram and I just want to help them with telling people about my experiences with their books.)

That said, here comes the review. But remember: don’t make it doubt you if you were curious about it, because my head feels like a strainer and words don’t come out in the way I like.

 

Synopsis JamieMcGuireHappenstance2

Erin Easter was now Erin Alderman, because Erin Alderman was dead.

In the second installment of this USA Today bestselling series, follow protagonist Erin, a high school senior in tiny Blackwell, Oklahoma. After a terrible accident leaves two classmates dead, Erin learns that she was switched at birth. Shortly after, she moves into the home of her true parents, Sam and Julianne Alderman, transforming Erin over night from pariah of Blackwell High School, to the only child of one of the most affluent couples in town.

Also being pursued by her childhood crush, Weston Gates, the dream she once had is now reality. But when Erin stumbles upon secrets that gives her the answers she’s been searching for, she also finds a truth she never wanted to know.

 

4.5 stars

 

My thoughts

Just like Happenstance, this was a quick and cute, yet also serious read.

Erin steps into a life she thought was never hers, but turns out to be just that. She has to get used to her new life and that’s harder than it seems. Because how do you act when you have always been the outcast and now you are the daughter of a beloved family? How do people treat you? Like they did before or how they treated Alder? And next to that, having caring parents all of a sudden takes some time getting used to after years of having to take care of yourself.

She seems to have the perfect life, the perfect parents, the perfect boyfriend, but does she? Because when she finds out secrets she’d rather not have known, her life feels anything but.

Erin has some trouble getting used to her new life, and really, how could she not? It doesn’t happen to everyone that from one day to the other, your life turns out to be the complete opposite of what it was. Old habits die hard, and that’s not only something that can be said about Erin.

This is definitely an easy book to read through, despite serious issues. It’s not a book that will have you in need of complete focus, because otherwise you missed half the clue. It’s perfect for just getting into your own little world and escape reality for a little while. Although it really is a little while because this, too, is a novella. It had me close to the end before I even realized it.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed continuing Erin’s journey and I can’t wait for the third – and last – instalment coming in January 2015.

