Tags

, ,

Take A Chance by Abbi Glines

 5.5 starsAbbiGlines-TakeAChance

Synopsis

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the story of Grant, the sexy playboy who first captured readers hearts in Fallen Too Far.

When Harlow Manning’s rocker father goes on tour, he sends her to Rosemary Beach, Florida, to live with her half-sister, Nan. The problem: Nan despises her. Harlow has to keep her head down if she wants to get through the next nine months, which seems easy enough. Until gorgeous Grant Carter walks out of Nan’s room in nothing but his boxer briefs.

Grant made a huge mistake getting involved with a girl with venom in her veins. He’d known about Nan’s reputation, but still he couldn’t resist her. Nothing makes him regret the fling more than meeting Harlow, who sends his pulse racing. Yet Harlow wants nothing to do with a guy who could fall for her wicked half-sister even if there are no strings between Grant and Nan. Grant is desperate to redeem himself in Harlow’s eyes, but did he ruin his chances before he even met her?

My thoughts

This is a book that will have you swooning, laughing, sweeping you right off your feet, melting into a puddle, feeling hot with steaminess and just pretty pissed off.

Take A Chance follows Harlow as she is pretty much dumped with her evil sister Nan because her father doesn’t want her to be alone in L.A. when he is on tour with his band. Harlow just wants those nine months to past fast, and in the meantime, she will just have to avoid Nan as much as possible and make a quiet, peaceful life for herself in Rosemary beach. But when she finds Grant Carter in her kitchen, in his underwear, that might become a problem.

Grant made a huge mistake. And he knows it. He desperately wants to redeem himself towards Harlow, but she isn’t a chance taker, and he blew the one she gave him into a million pieces. Will he convince her to give him another chance? Will she let him? Or will his own fears ruin whatever chance they got?

 

I don’t know if you read all the books in the Rosemary beach series, but I have to say; the second Grant Carter was introduced in Fallen Too Far, I loved him. And so I might or might not have jumped around yelling, cheering and fist-bumping the air when I found out he got his own book. The small glimpses of him and Harlow as in-the-background characters in the other books had me anticipating this one like an addict in desperate need of a high.

These two characters got to me from the start. I felt this strong connection to Harlow immediately because of how many things I had in comment with her. It’s what drew me to her from the very first second I met her. It’s like she can see inside my head and steals my thoughts and view on certain things and that’s not something I experience very often. It’s crazy how she exactly describes how I feel sometimes and that had me more and more excited about this book.

And then there’s Grant. What can I say about him… I loved him from the start and that only grew stronger and stronger the farther I came into Take A Chance. Yes, he made mistakes, going from ones that had me shaking my head at him to wanting to yell at him and shake him, hard. The problem is, Grant has his demons, too. And they could either make them, or break them. Yet, these demons are settled inside him deeper than he might realize.

Take A Chance scores 100% on the recommend scale to me. It’s fun and engaging and hot and sweet and exciting. Everything I search for in a book. So pick it up and give it a try, I promise it won’t disappoint.

 

 

************* WARNING: SPOILERS********************

 

 

 

I love-love-LOVE this book! Grant Carter is well… Grant. He’s protective and hot and sweet and I could continue for a while to be honest… I don’t know what it is about him, but he got my very interested attention all the way from the beginning of Fallen Too Far. He’s tentative too.

And then there’s Harlow. Quiet, shy Harlow who prefers holing up in her room with a good book instead of partying the hell out of life. That’s what I love so much about Take A Chance. Harlow isn’t a girl you see in books very often. (Or at least I haven’t.) Even if they have problems, they always have a full life, friends, goals, they go partying and are in the busiest time of their life. Harlow is socially awkward and her books are her friends. That alone had me loving her, because really, that’s me. I recognize myself so well in her, socially wise. So much it almost scared me in the good way. Of course, the farther we came into the book, the more that faded, because she actually got a life (whereas I don’t) but still, it made me feel pretty epic.

The two of them combined is such an unusual couple, though. At the same time, that’s what I love so much about them. He’s the king at one night stands who doesn’t really do long term relationships and she’s the girl who prefers locking herself away from the world and read a book, considering herself socially awkward.

What I highly HIGHLY appreciated was how we keep seeing glimpses of Blaire and Rush’s life. (If you haven’t read those, DO NOT read further, I will spoil their whole journey for you and you need to be a part of their life yourself – seriously, it’s epic – so be good to yourself and listen haha) How they are now is just heart-melting, and Nate! Nate is just so adorable! Complete love for that little guy :3

I love Mase too. He’s the perfect protective big brother. Although I did feel sorry for him at some points, I mean ahum he took it pretty hilariously and I mean, come on, who doesn’t like a tough cowboy?

You wonder, was there something you didn’t like. Well… I was coming to that.

Jup, still hate the ending. I’m pretty sure I was pissed off for at least a week. I wanted to yell at Grant. I wanted to slap him in the face. I wanted to do it again. And again. And again. And possibly again. Because in the moment Harlow truly needed him, he let his fears control him. The only thing that eases that feeling is knowing I can finally continue their journey. So this better end good.

*Anxiously reaching for One More Chance, needing to continue their journey because I can’t take where they are standing now any longer*

I’ll be back when I finished 😉

