Tags

, ,

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover 

5.5 starsColleenHooverUglyLove

Synopsis

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.

Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.

Promises get broken.

Rules get shattered.

Love gets ugly.

 

My thoughts

Finally, Finally about to start this what I already know is another masterpiece by Colleen Hoover. I can’t explain how excited I am to read this book and it’s even better because I’m reading it together with my best book buddy, even though we’re an hour time difference apart.

Just after I finished, I didn’t even know how to start with this review. There was some much going on in my head and at the same time nothing was. The longer I thought about it, though, the more things came up and then there was so much to write about that I didn’t know where to start.

Colleen has a way of doing that to me.

This was a hot, funny, devastating story about how certain events in someone’s life can change you forever, in a way that makes you believe you don’t want to go back there ever again. It wasn’t only sad, though. (Thank Cap for that.) I really loved him and Ugly Love really needed him. He was the one who lightened up all the intensity every once in a while, making it perfectly balanced. And it was hot. Boy, was it hot!

Normally I don’t really like the idea of people just having sex to full fill their needs and I knew beforehand that this was the most explicit book I’d ever read by Colleen. That was made pretty clear in the synopsis. That’s why I was a bit scared before I started Ugly Love,  because I absolutely big-huge-caps-lock-letters LOVE every single one of Colleens books and I didn’t want this to be an exception.

It wasn’t. Because Colleen wouldn’t be Colleen if she couldn’t make a ‘just-sex-arrangement’ something way more than that. Because let’s face it, even though Tate accepted the conditions and was willing to stick to them, once they got started, the lines were blurry quite fast.

I love how Colleen wrote the intimate scenes at a distance, if that makes any sense at all. Personally, I don’t really feel the need to read every single detail of the most intimate parts of the relationship, and knowing this would be her hottest book yet, I was curious to see how she would work this out. I got to say it is balanced perfectly. We get the intimacy of New Adult, but a little zoomed out, leaving the rest up to the imagination of the reader.

I have to get something off my chest.

I never had a thing for pilots.

Ugly love made me want to have a thing for pilots. Miles made me create a thing for pilots.

Because, my lord Miles is hot. And mysterious and sexy and soft and sad and hot and sweet and hot.

Miles is also heartbroken. My heart broke for him too many times to count. What he’s been through is just so devastating. The whole book was intense in a way that’s hard to explain. I always write my thoughts down if it all gets inside my head and this is what it looked like, you know, just to give you an idea;

Okay, I’m further than I thought. I’m on page 71 and GHJSKADKQ  I’m freaking losing it already. I don’t know if it’s me but this whole book is just so intense and all the emotions and GOOD LORD I just can’t take it anymore already. It’s not even that something HUGE happened already or something, but it’s just the whole feel of this book.

Especially near the end, this book had me having to stop reading at times, because I couldn’t handle all the feels. I can tell you, I don’t have that often. Mostly I want to devour a book as fast as possible.


 

Okay, to be honest, I know this is possibly the worst review I’ve written… I’m very sorry about that. It sucks because I have a feeling that because of it, my true opinion on this book isn’t coming across. The problem is that there are just so many thoughts in my head that none of them come out.

The main point is that I absolutely loved this book. It has everything; steaminess, romance, devastation, bliss, anger, serious issues, love, family, sadness. Everything. And as I expected from Colleen, she won’t ever let you down. She has a talent of writing engaging stories with twists you think you see coming, but then you don’t.

Just read it, it’s amazing.

Also, for an idea of the overall theme, the amazingly talented Griffin Peterson wrote a song specially for this book, called Ugly Love, and it is absolutely gorgeous and gives you a very good idea of the storyline without giving anything away. So look that up if you like. I’d do it, though, his voice is like velvet for your ears.

 

 

*** WARNING SPOILERS*****

 

 

 

 

One of the first things I noticed was what Colleen had done with the way the lines were centered. It added another dimension to the whole story. How they got centered like a poem the moment Miles realized he was in love with Rachel. Then it was heart breaking to see the lines go back to normal the second Miles realized Rachel didn’t love him anymore, but at the same time, I loved to see how they got centered again later, but then in the present.

The directness of Miles chapters was definitely something I had to get used to. It was short and with a lot of repeat, but that made the words come in ever faster and harder, more intense. Also with the way the words would go smaller or bigger. Like you were sucked straight in, too.

I loved to see how Colleen always finds a way to say ‘I love you’ in a different way than the expected. It was like that in Hopeless and Slammed, too. I love how she always comes up with something original.

When the clue came to light… Holy crap. I got to say, I expected the car crash. I had expected that he would lose them both to that crash, though. Colleen still surprised me. (Of course she did, Colleen would never do something you expect) I mean, in a way he lost them both to the crash, but not like I thought. And the water. The water made it so much worse. The second I realized what the cover stood for, I wanted to cry.

Something that got my attention quite quickly was how Colleen created these small dreads between the following up chapter of Tate and Miles. They’re subtle yet clear and add more to the story than you would think, because they showed the major difference between past-Miles and present-Miles so clearly.

That difference became clear in other things too. The POV switches at the end. Holy shit. I loved that we got to see a little bit more of Rachel, because at a point, I really hated her. The thing was, she said the exact opposite of what Tate had experienced with Miles this whole time. To Tate, his eyes were always keeping up this armor and keeping himself distance, while Rachel said his feelings and thoughts had always been so clear to her.

This was a book that keeps you thinking about it for a long time after you finished and I recommend it to everyone, because I think everyone should be a part of Colleen Hoover’s epicness in the way she writes a book.

