Tags

, ,

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

SynopsisJohnGreenTheFaultinOurStars

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

 

5.5 stars

My thoughts

I had heard a lot about this book before I started. What it came down to; moments that will cause you to laugh hard, a lot of sarcasm, perfect amount of love and last but not least; devastating heart break awaits you.

That’s exactly what it was.

Seriously.

The Fault In Our Stars is a masterpiece that will be stuck in your head long after you’ve finished.

The first thing I noticed was that the writing style is so different than what I’m used to. It’s fun and alive and playful with the capital words in sentences and extra thoughts between dashes or round brackets and yet some of the words feel like they wouldn’t have been spoken by people that age. Although that’s probably just another part of the writing style.

I loved the sarcasm in this book. Especially in the beginning, there is like ninety per cent sarcastic remarks on everything that’s said and done, whether it’s actually spoken or not. It gives a story with a subject like this just that bit of mocking it needs. It makes that the seriousness and fun is perfectly in sync.

The characters in this book are amazingly set. They’re strong willed and brave and full of life in their own way and optimistic and you can’t help but fall for these incredible people.

Their fight is one that, unfortunately, is familiar to a lot of people these days, but it isn’t one that’s displayed just like this in books very often. This book is realistic in a way I didn’t experience with books before and that makes it very confronting. It’s an issue that might not be something people really want to read about because this disease is so common but never gets put into the attention like this. That’s why I think everyone should read it and recommend it to everyone. Because John Green created a story that has everything in it to make you aware of your life and that of others, yet also made it into a story that has many levels. It has love and fun and sarcasm and tragic. Everything is weighted out in the perfect amounts.

 

 

********* WARNING: SPOILERS*********

 

 

I’ll be really honest. This was not a book I chose to read all by myself. I didn’t want to read it knowing beforehand how it ended, because yes, someone had big time spoilered to me as an outlet when she finished, and I knew what would happen. I search my happily ever after’s in books and with a book about people with a terminal disease, you know there won’t be any. So I put it off. Then, I was forced by two people (in the most positive way possible, of course) to read it and with the movie release coming up, I finally surrendered.

Yeah.

I really have built a love/hate relationship with this book. I loved the first half. The sarcasm was so funny and I fell hard for these two characters, even though – knowing the ending – I didn’t know if I wanted to. There is no way you can’t, though. I felt myself falling for them and I tried to stop it, but there was no way I could.

Even though I had the strong urge, a lot of times, to hurl this book out of the window and scream, I have to admit that this is probably one of the best books I’ve ever read. The characters are real and engaging and strong and brave. The style in which this is written is great. Storyline wise, though, it’s not my favourite book. Because the story itself was pretty awful.

The weird thing is, when I just finished The Fault In Our Stars, for like two minutes, I really kind of hated this book. Yet, the longer I thought about it this morning after I woke up, the more I realize how good and important this book is. Even though I hate what happens, it is why this book was made. This was never supposed to be the love of two young people who found a way out, miraculously or not. This was supposed to display that life isn’t always gonna end with a happily ever after. That even when you know it’s an ending case either way, you can still make the best of the little time you have. You can still fall in love and chase answers you seek.

And even knowing I really need my happily ever after’s in the books I read, and admitting that that’s the reason I kind of hate this book (well, only the second half) I can say that this book is phenomenally written. The way John displayed the downhill is so real and undeniably heart breaking. The helplessness is such a hard thing to witness. You get into this whole spiral of stages of the disease and you feel the despair they feel because they can feel their body failing them and they can’t do anything about it. It is so confronting.

The worst part about this book is that it is so awfully realistic in a way that had me nauseated, literally at times. I know people who battled with this disease, one of them lost the fight, but not from up close. I never got confronted with it like this before and at some moments I just felt sick with the horrifying truth of this disease.

Even though this is not one of my favourite books, I do recommend it to everyone, because it is a beautiful book about two young people who fight every day and never give up. Two young people who won’t let their disease be their life. Who make their own and enjoy the time they have and fight the moments they feel lost.

