Tags

,

Easy by Tammara Webber

6 starsEasyTammaraWebber

Synopsis

 Rescued by a stranger.

Haunted by a secret

Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

 

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl’s struggle to regain the trust she’s lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

My thoughts
I love this book from the bottom of my heart.

Also, I’m cheating because this isn’t the first time I read Easy. The first time was in October 2012, so that’s about one and a half year ago. Regardless, I love this book so much I wanted to review it, even if this was the fourth time I read it. ( I also tried hard to make this the first review I wrote without spoilers, at least in the first part)

I remember so well, back in October 2012, the second I started this book, I was sucked straight into the story and it had me captivated until the very last page. This is a story of traumatizing situations, saviors, heartache, lies, friendship, finding strength and a very important message.

Easy is about Jacqueline Wallace, who finds herself in a situation no one wants to find herself in, but was saved by a stranger. Trying to cope with what happened to her, her savior seems to suddenly be everywhere. Soon, Jacqueline finds herself attracted by not only his looks but also his character, yet he also reminds her of the night she desperately want to forget.

Their mutual attraction grows, but Lucas has his own demons that haunt him. He has reasons for not opening up.

Will Jacqueline be able to break his walls or will he push her away before she ever got in?

 
I love so many things about this book that I probably will never be able to discuss all of them in a review. I love how I fell right into the story from the very first page. The way Jacqueline and Lucas meet is unlike anything I’ve read before, yet heartbreaking. I love how they keep meeting in these every day encounters. I love what went on between them, from the subtle glances to more. I love the teasing. I love Erin. She knows Jacqueline so well and knows exactly what she needs and doesn’t need.  I love Benji, too. He’s just awesome. I love Lucas – do I really need to say that? I mean duh – he’s amazing and I get giddy every time I just think about him. I love how Tammara kept their mutual attraction subtle, yet hot and realistic all at the same time. That’s an amazing talent. I love LOVE the ending. Just *sigh*

Dislikes? Not many. BUT.
I hate Kennedy. What. A. Dick. Seriously. I hate how he thinks and how he acts and who he is. I wanted to slap him at least a dozen times. Pretty much every scene he was in, really. I hate Buck. Even more than Kennedy. He’s a disgrace and disgusting. That’s all I want to say about him.

The way Tammara wrote Easy gets my everlasting respect. For me, Easy is a book that shot straight to my heart and will always stay there. The events, the evolvement, the characters actions, everything caries along with the importance of the message of this book and Tammara did an amazing job at it. I have so much respect for the way she handled this subject, especially after her own experiences.

I can only recommend this book to everyone on this earth. I truly think everyone should read this so that this message gets spread around the world as far as possible so it can help other people, by maybe preventing and otherwise showing the most important message of all: It’s not your fault.

 
********* WARNING,  CONTAINS SPOILERS*********

 

I love how Tammara set this story. She found this amazing balance between the romance between Jacqueline and Lucas and their separate lives. Their love is not cheesy at all. It’s hot and evolves slowly and realistic. And of course I would have loved to see more sweet scenes between Lucas and Jacqueline. Or course I would have loved to see Lucas be her savior even more often, but this story needed to be exactly how it was written. I wouldn’t change a thing about it at all. Because the whole intention of the story is that you need to stand up for yourself and fight. To never give in. Jacqueline needed to find her own strength inside her and the only way to do that was to be her own hero.

Another aspect I loved, was that Tammara gave so much attention to the defense class. It’s so important for women to be able to defend themselves and I think there should be more of these classes so that it’s available to everyone.

This might sound weird but this book changed me. It changed how I looked at things. Before Easy, I never really thought about the importance of self-defense, but now, I have the moves from Easy memorized and really thought about searching for a defense class in my neighborhood. The not so great thing is, is that I’m pretty sure we don’t seem to have that in my town.

Lucas is amazing. He truly is such an amazing person, regardless of his looks, which are – let’s be honest – absolutely swoon worthy, he is kind and loving and caring and charming and protective and everything I could possibly search for in a man. The way he treats Jacqueline and respects her is beautiful. When Lucas was described, I loved how Tammara chose a male character that looked, well… not like every ordinary male. He looks darker than many other male characters with the lip ring, tattoos, clothing style and haircut. I liked this for several reasons. One, I happen to find this style interesting. Two, normally people with this kind of style are perceived in a certain, mostly negative, way, but in Easy the opposite is showed, which is in far the most cases, the truth.

When the truth about Lucas’ mom came out, my heart broke. I could feel it breaking for him. I had never felt it like that before. I had to stop for a second to let the blurry gaze return to normal before I could continue, because I couldn’t see the words anymore. His actions made so much more sense now. Why he build those tall walls around him to keep everyone away. Why he reacted the way he did when Jacqueline didn’t want him to call the police on the night they met. Why he volunteered on the defense class. It explained so much but at the same time, I wish it didn’t, because no one deserves to witness what he went through.

What I think is very important to say is; I love Erin. She is the best friend for Jacqueline. Sometimes, it seemed like she knew better that Jacqueline needed than she did herself. How she signed them both up for defense class. How, after she knew, she never doubted Jacqueline’s story and stood by her side through it all. I think Erin gets forgotten easily, but she shouldn’t. She is a major influence on how Jacqueline got her world back on track, besides Lucas.

Sometimes, when reading a book, there is this character that reaches into your heart and creates his own special place in there. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does, it’s the best feeling. Lucas is like that for me. His character, the heart-breaking story of his past, the way he treats the people around him, his amazing talent in drawing, the way he expresses himself in his tattoos, all of that together, his whole being, makes that he captured a piece of my heart and I know he will always have that.

For me, Easy is a book that shot straight to my heart and will always stay there. The events, the evolvement, the characters actions, everything caries along with the importance of the message of this book and Tammara did an amazing job at it. I have so much respect for the way she handled this subject, especially after her own experiences.

I can only recommend this book to everyone on this earth. I truly think everyone should read this so that this message gets spread around the world as far as possible so it can help other people, by maybe preventing and otherwise showing the most important message of all: It’s not your fault.

