Tags

,

Point Of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

5 stars

SynopsisColleenHooverPointOfRetreat

Hardships and heartache brought them together… now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’

 

********** CONTAINS SPOILERS*************

 

This book was so completely different from Slammed. There was still so much grief and heartache, but it was different this time.

I got to say first, though, I hate Vaughn. Absolutely hate the chick. I already strongly disliked her in Slammed for breaking Will’s heart so shortly after such an traumatic event, but in Point Of Retreat… wow. The nerves that girl has! To go and flirt with him after what she did to him. Then to ruin everything. To exclaim her so-called love for Will and then go and date his best friend. Or go back to dating his best friend. Like, REALLY? What a bitch. And Reece too. Seriously.

Someone I absolutely loved was Kiersten. She’s the most awesome 11 year old I have ever heard of. The boldness, the smart-ass attitude, her whole character. She had me bending over laughing so many times.

I loved how Will did everything he could to make things up to Layken. How he was constantly contemplating how to get her to forgive him, yet completely missing her point in doing so. The fun part was – if you can call it fun part anyway, these two were never supposed to be fighting in the first place – that they got in contact every time through Layken’s mother’s stars. I loved how Layken wouldn’t give up the stars even though they were in Will’s house. How she just came barging in to grab a star and leave. Yes, I was beyond sad they were fighting, but I just really liked how Layken showed she wouldn’t just back down like that.

I absolutely adored the way Will made it up to her. The slam was amazing and sweet and the best thing he could have done to make her see the truth. I don’t know how else to explain it, it was just so adorable.

The accident had me biting my nails. Big time. It was just so, so sad and all I could think of was, “Please, let them all be alright.”

 “Please, let Eddie’s baby be okay.”

 “Please, don’t let Layken have permanent harm.”

 “Please, don’t take the last thing Will has away from him, too.”

 Gah. I just wanted to crawl into the book and hug Will and tell him it would be alright, even though I had no idea how it was going to end. My heart broke for him so many times in those chapters.  But then, it was completely healed by the time I reached the last page. Gosh. Just GOSH. That was so, so, SO adorable! I hadn’t necessarily expected it, and yet, at some point, I had. Either way, it was the best thing.

So, now I’m on to This Girl =D

You’ll see me in a few days.

Hopefully.

Ha.

