Tags

,

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

5.5 starsColleenHooverSlammed

Synopsis

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken for
m an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

 

******** CONTAINS SPOILERS *********

When I started this book, I didn’t have a clear picture on what to expect. All I understood was that it was a book about a girl who moved to another town while struggling with her father’s passing away. That she had a neighbor who was VERY attractive and who was into poetry. I had no idea what this book would be about, but whatever I thought…

It wasn’t that. AT ALL.

Knowing Colleen Hoover’s work, I knew it had to be a great book, but I never, ever expected this. It was so emotional – and I know all of Colleen’s books are, that’s what I love so much about her – but this was so, SO different. Because this wasn’t a love story. It wasn’t a story about two people finding each other and falling for each other and together they could concur everything. I mean, it was, but it wasn’t.

This book was about grieving. So much it. Because they had found each other, immediately, but then had to block all of their feelings behind a thick wall because they couldn’t have what they wanted because of the responsibilities they had. They were fighting with themselves all the time, all the while Layken still grieved about the loss of her father. All the while she was trying to accept the move to Michigan. All the while she had to cope with yet another kind of grieving, the one that comes knowing that close in the future, grieving will come.

This book was about grieving. So much of it. And so, so real, because who on this earth hasn’t dealt with this horrible illness? Whether it’s close family or friends or colleagues, everyone knows someone who came in contact with it.

I’m not an emotional reader. I don’t sob while reading books, even if my heart is breaking for the characters. I don’t know why. But this book… Slammed had me seeing blurred lines. Slammed had me to stop reading for a moment to swipe a tear away. That only happened to me once before; while reading Losing Hope. Also by Colleen Hoover. The other two times I had to stop reading because tears welled up in my eyes and I just couldn’t breathe for a moment was with Hopeless (also by Colleen Hoover) and Easy (by Tammara Webber).

The thing about this book is that, I am afraid of losing people close to me. I’ve never told anyone this, but I’m afraid of the day that the people I love won’t be walking around this earth anymore. And the relationship between Layken and her mom made me think of my relationship with my mom and we (my mom, my sister and I) are so close and the idea that you can lose the people so close to you just like that, is just so scary.

I think that’s what made me so sad, that it seemed to come so close all of a sudden.

But this book isn’t only about grieving. It makes you see that, because life can suddenly be caught off, you have to actually live. You have to make the best time you can possibly have when you still have the chance. It’s about making the best of things.

I loved Kel’s way of thinking. How he made every situation so light when everything seemed unbearable. That is exactly what was needed. Everything together made the book just so complete.

I couldn’t tell you one thing I didn’t like about this book. Yes, there was a lot of heartache and yes, I usually am all for the romantic love type of books, but this book was never supposed to have that typical kind of love, because Colleen wrote it. And I think that says enough in itself. Colleen doesn’t do typical and that is exactly what makes her books so magnificent.

The cheesy, romantic part of me got all giddy and jumpy inside of me when both Will and Layken performed their Slam pieces where they confessed their love for each other, though. I didn’t think I could smile that wide.

The Slam throughout the book was amazing, now that we’re talking about it. I don’t often understand poetry and all the symbols that refer to other things, but this was so direct and clear and intense. Each and every word went straight to my heart and I loved every second of it. Just like the fact that I absolutely loved how Colleen worked the lyrics into the story. Their shared love for a band.

I could talk for hours about everything I love about this book, but I won’t, because I can’t wait to start Point Of Retreat. So that’s what I’m gonna do now. You’ll see my review of that one, hopefully soon. 😉

 

